Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Examiners in Optometry

Board Meeting Minutes



October 11, 2013

Tieszen Law Office Conference Room
9:00 AM


1. Attendance

  Meeting called to order at 9:02 a.m. Board members present were Dr. Kollis-Young, Dr. Hartford, Dr. Dockter, Jill Hart (arrived at 9:37), and Nancy Van Camp. Also present were Naomi Cromwell, Tieszen Law Office; Ann Meyer, Attorney General’s Office; and Deni Amundson, Board Executive Secretary.


2. Approve minutes from May 31, 2013.

  Nancy Van Camp moved to approve the minutes from May 31, 2013, seconded by Dr. Kollis-Young. Motion passed.


3.  Approve treasurer’s report

  Dr. Kollis-Young moved to approve the treasurer’s report, seconded by Dr. Dockter. Motion passed. 


4.  Board review and approve CE courses

  Board reviewed and approved continuing education courses by individual signature vote.


5. Old Business


a.     Board Certification- Will continue to closely monitor. Tabled until next meeting.

b.     CPT Code 65778- Discussion only; tabled until next meeting.

c.   2013 Legislative Session Updates- Discussion on SB3 and SB 117; no action taken.


6. New Business


a.     Licensing- No action taken.

b.     Meeting Dates- We will try to meet late March or early April and also early in September. No action taken.

c.     20:50:08:02.02- Limits on Self-Directed Learning- Discussion on current standards; tabled until next meeting.

d.   Anonymous Complaints and Investigation Process- Discussion on current process, Dr. Hart motioned to authorize board president, Dr. Hartford, to act on behalf of the board on consent agreement matters until June 30, 2014. Seconded by Dr. Dockter, motion passed.

e.     Non-Prescription Contact Lenses- Discussion was had regarding the need to educate the public. We will post the press release that the SDOS will be posting on their website to our website. No action taken.


7. Time and Place of Next Meeting


 April 4, 2014

Tieszen Law Office Conference Room

Pierre, South Dakota

9:00 AM


8.  Adjournment

  Dr. Kollis-Young moved for adjournment, seconded by Nancy Van Camp. Motion passed. Meeting was adjourned at 11:06 a.m