The South Dakota Vital Records Office in the Department of Health can issue either an informational or a certified copy of a vital record. Applicants must meet eligibility requirements to obtain certified copies.
NOTE: By state law, vital records filed in the state of South Dakota are not open for public inspection.
Order the following records:
- Birth certificates
- Certificates of birth resulting in stillbirth
- Marriage certificates
- Divorce records
- Death certificates
The birthing facility will submit your child’s birth record information generally within 7 business days after date of birth. We suggest waiting 14 days after date of birth to apply for a copy. If you did not have your child in a birthing facility, please contact our office.
If you requested we submit your application to Social Security when your child was born, you should get your baby's social security card in about 3 weeks. It takes about 2 weeks to notify the Social Security Administration (SSA) about your baby's birth. After the birth is registered, SSA will issue your baby a Social Security number. The card will be mailed to you about one week after SSA is notified by the State of your baby's birth. Check with your local postal authorities about mailbox name requirements to ensure delivery.
We are committed to a high standard of customer service. Please take a moment to complete a quick customer satisfaction survey. Considering your needs and opinions helps us provide the best possible service.