The Board of Examiners in Optometry is responsible for ensuring the competency and ethical practice of optometrists to safeguard the eye health and well-being of South Dakota residents. This web page provides essential information about the licensing requirements and processes for those seeking to practice optometry in the state.
*Application forms may be printed directly from the links below, by writing The South Dakota Board of Optometry, PO Box 513, Wall, SD 57790, or by calling 605-279-2244.
Upon receipt of an application for an initial certificate of registration or for endorsement, the executive secretary shall review to determine if the applicant has submitted all required documents, information, non-refundable fees, and other materials. The executive secretary shall notify the applicant of any materials missing from the application. The applicant has 180 days from the date of notice to provide the information intended to complete the application. If an applicant fails to submit required materials within 180 days of notice that materials are missing from the application, the application will be deemed withdrawn. The executive secretary shall notify the applicant if an application is designated as withdrawn. The applicant is not precluded from reapplying at the expiration of the 180 day period, but all required documents, information, non-refundable fees, and other materials must be resubmitted with such reapplication.
The executive secretary shall initiate the processing of complete applications after receiving documentation from primary sources to verify that the applicant has met the requirements of applicable statutes and regulations.
Investigation of Application
The executive secretary may determine that the information disclosed in an application or primary source documentation requires inquiry to determine whether the applicant meets the qualifications or standards for the issuance of a license. The executive secretary may conduct that inquiry or may provide the matter to the board investigator for investigation.
The application may be typed in PDF form but must be printed and then signed by a notary prior to mailing. The application fee must accompany this notarized document.
References and state license verifications are required as part of the licensure process. For your convenience, copies of these documents can be found here for electronic transmission:
- Application fee - $175
- Yearly license fee - $300
- Due by September 30th of each year
- New license fees are pro-rated according to the date of licensure