Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy

2021 License Renewal

Continuing Education is NOT due with your renewal in 2021.

  • Renew License Online - available August 2, 2021-September 30, 2021
    (Please note online renewal does not work on all cell phones)

  • Application for Renewal


  • The license renewal fee is $65

  • An email reminder was sent detailing the renewal process. The email address used was the email that you provided the Board. If you do not have an email address on file, a letter will be mailed to you.

  • All licenses that expire 09/30/2021 are to be renewed 08/01/2021 – 09/30/2021.

  • Application for Inactive License (if you choose to inactivate instead of renew)

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates and Information.

The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards has released a Massage and Bodywork Guidelines for Practice with COVID-19 Considerations (“Guidelines”) document, which is accessible via the link below. These Guidelines are not being endorsed or promoted by the South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy (“Board”), and they have not been reviewed by the Board for purposes of compliance with any federal, state, or local laws or ordinances that may apply to massage therapists in South Dakota. These Guidelines are being made available for informational and general resource purposes only, and use of the Guidelines as well as implementation of any of the recommendations identified within the Guidelines is within your sole discretion and at your sole responsibility.

Melissa Miller
Executive Secretary

221 W. Capitol Ave., Suite 101
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-773-3440

Fax: 605-773-7175


Statute, Administrative Rule and Board Policies and Positions

Board Members

SDCL 36-35-2. The Board is legislated to have 5 board members appointed by the Governor. One member shall be a person not licensed by the board and four shall be licensed by the board.

Current Board Members:

Christine Ellwein, LMT, Pierre

Fallon Helm, LMT, Aberdeen

Lorin Pankratz, Lay Person, Sioux Falls

Kallyn Reinert, LMT, Mobridge

Al Trace, LMT, Hermosa


Quick Links