Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology

Carol Tellinghuisen
Executive Secretary

810 N. Main St., Suite 298
Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone: 605-642-1600
Fax: 605-722-1006


Personal Protective Equipment

The SD Department of Health has issued PPE to the Board of Examiners for Speech Language Pathology. The Board is working with SDSLHA to distribute the equipment.If you are a member of SDSLHA there will be an email going out about this, too. Please contact Brittany Schmidt for coordination of receiving PPE as a licensee in our state.

  • Brittany Schmidt, MA-CCC/SLP
    Autism Behavioral Consulting, LLC
    1105 W. Russell St., Sioux Falls, SD 57104  
    Phone: 605-351-1002
    Fax: 605-271-3956

Emergency Management Assistance Compact

On March 23, 2020, Governor Noem issued Executive Order 2020-07 ( which recognizes the licenses of medical professionals licensed in another state in accordance with the Emergency Management Assistance Compact. Speech-language pathologists licensed in other states have the authority to practice in SD based on an active license in another state. They do not need to gain another license in SD. The Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology recommends that if you are utilizing the services of a speech-language pathologist licensed in other states that you verify the licensure status of that individual. Please contact our office with any questions that you have during this Coronavirus Pandemic.

The mission of the South Dakota Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology is to protect the health and safety of the public by licensure of qualified persons and enforcement of the statutes, rules and regulations governing the practice of speech language pathology, including the appropriate processing and resolution of complaints.

Board Members

  • Jackie Protextor, MA, CCC/SLP, Pierre
  • Shirley Hauge, MA, CCC/SLP, Rapid City
  • Jane Heinemeyer, MA, CCC/SLP, Wentworth, Vice President
  • Brittany Schmidt, MA, CCC/SLP, Renner, President
  • Connie Tucker, Rapid City, Lay Member

Quick Links