Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology

Minutes for May 15, 2013 Public Hearing


The Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology convened on Wednesday, May 15, 2013 via DDN.  The purpose of the meeting was to conduct a public hearing on the proposed rules changes set forth below:


Article 20:79


Members of the Board in Attendance:  Brittany Schmidt, Jane Heinemeyer, Shirley Hauge and Kristin Gohn


Members of the Board Absent: None


Others in attendance:  Carol Tellinghuisen, Executive Secretary;  Paula Spargur, Executive Assistant;  Erika Buchholz, Executive Assistant;  Susan Sporrer, Department of Health; Deb Flynn, Julie Mairose, and Becky Cermak


President Schmidt opened the Public Hearing at 9:05 AM MT.  The board proceeded to discuss the rules and accept public comment.  Cermak addressed the concerns ASHA had submitted in writing and asked for clarification on some of the rules.  In reviewing these concerns the Board agreed to make some changes including removing “more than 150,000” from the definition of American Speech-Language-Hearing Association and  adding “If not ASHA certified” to (7), (8) and (9) under 20:79:01:03.  Flynn asked the Board to make sure supervisors had direct patient contact at least each 60 calendar days.  The board addressed this and also agreed to add a part time requirement for supervision requirements to 20:79:04:03 as there were concerns expressed regarding the one hour weekly requirement.  Mairose questioned whether dropping the DOE certificate would have an impact on the state retirement plan.  Sporrer advised Mairose that this question was an Association concern not a Board concern as the Board is protection of the public not the profession.


Schmidt called for approval of the rules with the changes discussed.  Hauge moved and Gohn seconded to adopt the rules.  Motion carried by roll call, Hauge-yes, Gohn-yes, Heinemeyer –yes, Schmidt-yes.  There being no further rules business; President Schmidt called for a motion to adjourn.  Heinemeyer moved and Gohn seconded to adjourn the meeting at 10:18 AM MT.  Motion carried by unanimous vote.