SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL MIDWIVES
27705 460" Avenue, Chancellor, SD 57015
Phone: 605-743-4451 Email: cpmsdlicense@gmail.com
Home Page: doh.sd.gov/boards/midwives/

Student Midwife Provisional License Instructions

Please follow instructions carefully to avoid delays in processing your application. If any information is
incorrect, incomplete or illegible, processing may be delayed. Upon receipt of all forms and fees at the
South Dakota Board of Certified Professional Midwives office your application will be considered. You will
be natified if additional information is required.

Submit the following to the South Dakota Board of Certified Professional Midwives:

e Completed Student Midwife Application form
e Completed Student Midwife Provisional License and Preceptor Agreement
e Official letter of proof of enrollment from MEAC approved program.

e Criminal Background Check Pursuant to SDCL 36-9C-12 each applicant for initial licensure is
required to submit a full set of fingerprints to obtain a state and federal criminal background
check. Upon request or receipt of your completed application, the South Dakota Board of Certified
Professional Midwives will provide you a background check packet which will include SDBCPM
specific fingerprint cards. You must use the agency specific cards.

e Fee: $500 Payment should be in the form of a money order or personal check payable to South Dakota

Board of Certified Professional Midwives. Fees are non-refundable and must accompany form. A
$40 fee will be charged for any insufficient check written.
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APPLICATION FOR SOUTH DAKOTA CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL MIDWIFE STUDENT LICENSE

Please READ All accompanying instructions and preparation checklist prior to completing this application.
ALL questions contained in this application must be answered and all supporting documentation must be submitted.

1. Name Last First Middle
2. Other name or aliases you have used (include maiden name)
3. Public Mailing Address: (Address of Record — Include Apt. #, City, State, Zip Code)
4. Telephone Numbers Home Work Cell (if available)
( ) ( ) ( )
5. Social Security Number 6. Sex: 7. Date of Birth: (Month/Date/Year)
- - OFemale O Male
8. MEAC approved midwifery education program which you have been or are enrolled in.
Name ADDRESS DATES OF ATTENDANCE (From: - To:)
9. Have you ever been licensed to practice midwifery or any other healing art in another state/country? If yes, list state/country

issuing authority, license number, date issued and date of expiration in each issuing agency’s jurisdiction. Submit a letter of

Good Standing (LGS) from each state in which you are or have held a license.

O YES O NO

State or Country

License Number

Date of Issuance

Date of Expiration

DISCIPLINARY INFORMATION

If “YES” is answered to any of the below questions please attach a detailed explanation. You must also submit copies of charges or citations and ALL
communication with (to and from) the citing agency AND the court of jurisdiction, including evidence of completion / compliance with court requirements.

1.  Have you ever been convicted, pled no contest/nolo contendere, pled guilty to, or been granted a deferred judgment or adjudication,

suspended imposition of sentence with respect to a felony, misdemeanor, or petty offense, other than minor traffic violations, that have O YES O NO

not previously been reported to the board?
2. Isthere any pending charge(s) against you with respect to a felony, misdemeanor, or petty offense other than minor traffic violations?

O YES 0O NO

3. Areyou currently being investigated or is disciplinary action pending against any professional license(s) or certificate(s) held by you? O YES ONO
4.  Has any CPM license or certificate ever held by you in any state or country been denied, revoked, suspended, stipulated, placed on

probation, or otherwise subjected to any type of disciplinary action? 0O YES 0O NO
5.  Have you ever been subject to proceedings by a professional society to revoke, reduce, or restrict membership? O YES o NO
6. Have you ever been treated for abuse or misuse of any alcohol or chemical substance? O YES 0 NO
7.  Have you ever experienced a physical, emotional, or mental condition that has endangered the health or safety of persons entrusted O YES 0 NO

in your care?
8. Do you currently owe child support arrearages in the amount of $1000 or more? OYES O NO
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PHOTO DECLARATION

| HEREBY DECLARE AND VERIFY, UNDER PENALTY OF
PERGURY, UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF SOUTH
(Not to exceed 2”x 3) DAKOTA, THAT THE PHOTO OF MYSELF ATTACHED
HERETO, WAS TAKEN ON OR ABOUT

PHOTO AREA

(within 12 months)

PHOTO MUST BE OF YOUR HEAD
AND SHOULDER AREA ONLY

Applicant Signature

APPLICANT DECLARATION, SIGNATURE, & NOTARY

State of

County of

The applicant, , being first duly sworn upon his/her oath, disposes and says, that | am the person
herein named and subscribing to this application; that | have read the complete application, know the full content thereof, and declare that all of
the information contained herein and evidence or other credentials submitted herewith are true and correct; were not procured with fraud or
misrepresentation or any mistake of which h the applicant is aware. Further, | hereby authorize all institutions or organizations, my references,
and all government agencies (local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the South Dakota Board of Certified Professional Midwives or its
successors any information, files, or records required by the Board in connection with this application; or my ability to safely engage in the
practice of certified professional midwifery. | further authorize the South Dakota Board of Certified Professional Midwives or its successors to
release to the organization, individuals, or groups listed above any information which is material to this application or any subsequent licensure. |
FURTHER UNDERSTAND THAT FALSIFICATION OR MISREPRESENTATION OF ANY ITEM OR RESPONSE ON THIS APPLICATION OR ANY ATTACHMENT
HERETO SUFFICIENT BASIS FOR DENYING OR REVOKING A LICENSE, IF ISSUED.

Signature of Applicant

Subscribed and sworn before me on this day of , 20 , by
personally known to me or proved to on the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the person(s) who appeared before me.

NOTARY SEAL
HERE

SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC

Initial Student Licensure Fee - $500
Make checks payable to: SD Board of Certified Prof. Midwives
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