Get Licensed as Healthcare Facility

Submit written request for information to license and/or certify specific facility type to:

Cassie Deffenbaugh, Administrator
Office of Health Care Facilities Licensure & Certification
600 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-1700

In response, you will receive applicable regulations and a request for more information, such as location, fiscal viability, ownership, etc. The department will establish a file for the proposed facility. Application forms will be sent when eligibility for licensure or certification is evident. Buildings must meet state and federal construction, electrical, and plumbing requirements specific for the intended use.

Facility Types

South Dakota requires licensure for hospitals, nursing facilities, assisted living centers, ambulatory surgery centers, adult foster care homes, birthing centers, community living homes, x-ray facilities, mammography units, inpatient hospice units, abortion facilities and inpatient chemical dependency treatment facilities, and registration for residential living centers.

See Types of Facilities

The federal government requires laboratories testing human specimens and mammography units to be certified.

To be eligible for reimbursement by Medicare or Medicaid, the following provider types must be certified by Medicare:

  • occupational therapy
  • speech therapy
  • rural health clinic
  • laboratories
  • x-ray facilities
  • mammography units
  • psychiatric residential treatment facilities

Residential Living Centers are registered, not licensed, and are required to register annually with the South Dakota Department of Health. See Chapter 44:23:01 - Registration of Residential Living Centers


Applications, Renewals, & Forms