Doneen Hollingsworth, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Pharmacy


July 2010
South Dakota State Board of Pharmacy
4305 S Louise Ave, Suite 104, Sioux Falls, SD 57106



Congratulations to those pharmacists who have been registered with the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy for 50 years:  Terry Casey, Donald Frank, Norval Luke, James McMurtry, Ronald Nelson, Everett Randall, Eugene Rezac, Richard Robbins, Conley Stanage, Benjamin Thompson, James Thorson, and Myron Weber. 


The following candidates recently met licensure requirements and were registered as pharmacists in South Dakota:  Roy Balinski, Wayne Bauma, Daniel Blakeley, Angela Bomgaars, Nicole Brown, Joseph Caputo, Yuen Chin, Deborah Cook, Joulan Elbarhamtoshi, Eric Froke, Aaron Gerber, Holly Holmes, Paul Hueseman, Stacey Jackson, Sheila Johnston, Matthew Kolb, Jessica Kroon, Amy Mammenga, Brandon Markley, Megan Poppe, Jeffrey Meyer, Rachel Pajl, Ryan Prouty, Lawrence Sajdak, Claudia Shaffer, Jamie Tarbox, Thomas Weismantel, Joshua Woods, and Zhiying Yang. 


Pharmacy licenses have been issued recently to:  Tom Wullstein, pharmacist-in-charge, Brandon Health Mart and Judy Waldman, pharmacist-in-charge, Vilas Pharmacy – Ipswich (telepharmacy).  



During the most recent legislative session a new law was passed establishing Prescription Drug Monitoring (PDMP) in South Dakota.  This law places the responsibility for implementing and operating this program with the Board of Pharmacy.  Rep. David Lust, Rapid City, provided the leadership in drafting the bill and gaining legislative support.  The law provides for an Advisory Committee made up of prescribers, dispensers and other stakeholders to provide advice and make recommendations to the Board regarding how to best use the program to improve patient care and foster the goal of reducing misuse, abuse and diversion of controlled substances.  Board of Pharmacy staff will be drafting administrative rules to define the details of program within the authority and mandate of the law.  As the rules are developed they will be available on the Board website.  We encourage pharmacists to comment on the rules prior to the public hearing.

Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) has been a long time proponent of PDMP’s due to the proven effectiveness in curtailing the diversion and abuse of controlled substances.  The PDMP involves the exchange of health information.  Pharmacies will be submitting prescription drug utilization data to the program. Data submission will be mandatory for all pharmacies and dispensers who provide controlled substances to South Dakota patients.  Data will be collected online via an interface data dump (like online insurance adjudication).  The information will be transferred to the secure data base.            

Prescribers and pharmacists will access this information for the care of their patients.  The program is not intended to be used to target subjects for investigation, but rather to identify illegal activity such as prescription forgery, indiscriminate prescribing, and to deter “doctor shoppers”.  Health care providers will have access to review the data online through a secure server once the data has been collected, but are not required to access the database prior to writing or dispensing a prescription.

According to other states, the implementation period will take about one year.  We anticipate that our program will be operational by July 1, 2011.  Executive Secretary Ron Huether has submitted a request to the US Department of Justice – Bureau of Justice Assistance - Harold Roger’s PDMP Implementation Grant.  If we are successful in obtaining the $400,000 grant, the program will be funded through September 30, 2012.  

Staffing for the program will include: a part time pharmacist to serve as PDMP director and a full time clerical/technical associate to perform day-to-day data review and provide responses to inquiries.  We will contract with a vendor that currently provides data collection and storage services to existing programs in other states.  The PDMP director will be responsible for designing educational materials for health care providers and the public.  The materials will include details of PDMP and how prescribers and dispensers can use the information to provide better patient care. The director will provide face-to-face education to prescribers and dispensers around the state.



Board meeting dates:  Board meetings are scheduled for October 1 in Brookings and December 12 in Sioux Falls.  Please check our website for the time, location and agenda. 


Our inspectors have noticed several occasions where a nurse has prepared new prescriptions on the prescriber’s behalf, and then signs the prescriber’s name in addition to their own name. State and Federal law state a prescriber’s manual signature must be on the prescription. The only exception to this would relate to electronic prescription in which an electronic signature is acceptable. Insurance companies have recouped payments when an audit finds a written prescription without the signature of the prescriber.  Please validate these prescriptions with a verbal authorization and reduce to writing. This pertains to refill requests faxed to the prescriber also. Nurses are not allowed to sign or initial the refill authorization.

When our inspectors are conducting annual inspections, a question often asked as to what is “readily available” when it comes to retrieving invoices for controlled substances. Invoices for schedule II controlled drugs must be stored separately from all other invoices and in a manner which promotes an efficient and effective audit. We recommend filing these invoices chronologically in conjunction with the DEA form 222 or the CSOS form. Invoices for all other controlled substances should be filed separately from other ordinary business records of the registrant.



Pharmacist license renewal time is right around the corner.  To avoid a last-minute panic finding continuing education certificates, you can accumulate and enter the hours on the board’s renewal site. 

To log in use the same method as renewing your license:

  • Access the Board web site at

  • Click on the “Pharmacists” button on the right

  • Click on - On-line Renewal/Bank CE

  • The log-in name is letters “nspharm” plus your 4-digit license number.  (Do not use the “R” if you have one in your license number).  

  • The password is the letters “nspharm” and the last four digits of your SSN.

  • You will have the option of changing your password if you wish.

  • Click on Ph26PharmLic, and then click on Pharmacist Info.

  • You can update any personal or employment information.  The phone number requires you to use dashes.  The dates should be in MM/DD/YYYY format.  If a required field is left blank you will get an error message to complete that field.  If you don’t have an entry for that field enter N/A.

  • Click the continue button to go to the CE page.

  • Enter each CE program, the date, and the year that you want it used and then click “apply”.  (Enter 2010 for the October 1, 2010 through September 30, 2011 renewal year.)  The program will automatically add them for you.  Remember to use the MM/DD/YYYY format – this is probably the number one error people encounter.

  • Hours earned between October 1, 2009 and September 30, 2011 can be used for the 2011-2012 licensing year.

Please contact the Board office at 605-362-2737 if you need assistance.


Office Phone    605-362-2737 FAX    605-362-2738
Ron Huether, Executive Secretary
Rene Hixon, Senior Secretary
Kim Kocmick-Burden, Secretary
Earl McKinstry, Pharmacy Inspector
Randy Jones, Pharmacy Inspector
Board of  Pharmacy Website