Doneen Hollingsworth, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Nursing Facility Administrators

Brittany Novotny
Executive Secretary

PO Box #340, 1351 N. Harrison Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-224-1721
Fax: 1-888-425-3032

NEWS: The South Dakota Board of Nursing Facility Administrators office is moving to a new location.  Effective April 17th, the Board’s offices will be located at 1351 North Harrison Avenue, Pierre, SD  57501.  The Board’s mailing address, Post Office Box 340, Pierre, SD  57501 and phone number, 605-224-1721, remain the same.


Please note there may be a short period of telephone service interruption on April 17th as the Board makes the transition to its new location.  We apologize for any inconvenience.  The Board looks forward to serving you at our new location.


The mission of the South Dakota Board of Nursing Facility Administrators is to enforce updated statutes and rules promulgated to regulate the mandatory licensing for Nursing Facility Administrators, and to monitor the mandatory continuing education for licensure renewal.

Board Members

Board members are appointed by the Governor to three-year terms.  Members must include a licensed physician, a registered nurse, a hospital administrator who is also licensed as a nursing facility administrator, two practicing administrators of proprietary nursing homes, two practicing administrators of non-profit nursing homes, a designee of the Secretary of Health, a designee of the Secretary of Social Services and two members of the general public having no direct financial interest in nursing facilities. Current board members are:


Loren Diekman, Watertown - Chair

Bob Stahl, Pierre – Vice Chair
Carla Borchardt, Sioux Falls
Mark Burket, Platte
Chris Hipple, Sturgis
Marilyn Kinsman, Pierre

JoAnn Lind, Flandreau

Talli Raske, Pierre

Dr. Aaron Shives, Watertown

Gale Walker, Parkston

Chris Qualm, Pierre