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South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy 
P.O. Box 340, 1351 N. Harrison Ave.,  Pierre, SD 57501-0340 

Ph.: 605-224-1721 Fax: 888-425-3032 
	
  

E-mail:  SDBMT@midwestsolutionssd.com www.doh.sd.gov/boards/Massage 
	
  
	
  
	
  

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 
	
  
	
  

Please submit the following: 
1.  Completed application; 
2.  Nonrefundable renewal fee of $75; 
3.  Licensing fee of $45 (refundable if application is denied); 
4.    Copy of applicant’s birth certificate or driver’s license; 
5.     Verification of any name change by applicant; 
6.     Quality color photograph of applicant; 
7.     Proof of at least 500 hours of specific training in massage therapy by applicant  

(Completed Verification of Education Form from your school); 
8.      Proof of applicant’s passing score on an accepted national certification exam; 
9.      A verification letter from each state where licensed, along with a copy of license; and 
10.   Proof of Malpractice or Professional Liability Insurance of at least $250,000. 

	
  
A non-refundable fee of $75 is required to be submitted with this application. Any application pending for 12months or 

more will be returned to the applicant. 
A licensing fee of $45 is required to be submitted with this application. If your application is denied, this fee will be 

refunded. 
 
 

  APPLICANT INFORMATION 

Name:    _____  

Formerly Known As, if applicable: _____________________________________________________________________ 

Address:     
	
  

City:    State:    
	
  
Zip:    

E-mail:   Phone:     

Date of Birth:    Social Security Number:    
	
  
 EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 
	
  

Name of Business:     Phone:    
	
  

Physical Address:    Mailing address:    
	
  

City:    State:    
	
  
Zip:    

	
  
	
  

Do you have another business addresses?   _____ YES  _____ NO    If yes, please provide additional contact information 
on a separate sheet. 
 
Do you prefer to receive mail from the Board at your:  ________ Home   __________ Primary Business 
 
Would you like to receive email communications (i.e. newsletters, reminders, etc.) from the Board? ____ YES  ____ NO     
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        MILITARY STATUS 

	
  
   Are you the spouse of a member of the armed forces of the United States?     YES    NO 
	
  

If Yes, was your spouse the subject of a military transfer to South Dakota?    YES    NO 
	
  

If Yes, did you leave employment to accompany your spouse to South Dakota?     YES   NO
	
  
	
  
EDUCATION  (Please provide proof of all education stated.) 
 
Have you completed at least 500 of specific training in the practice of massage therapy?     YES        ________ NO
 
   Name of Facility where completed:    

 
   Date of Completion:    

 
A completed Verification of Education Form is required to verify your massage therapy training. 

 
 
NATIONAL EXAMINATION 
 
A passing score on a national certification exam is required for licensure.  Please indicate which exam you passed. 

 

□ NESCL (NCBTMB) □ NBCA Massage Therapy Certification Exam (AMMA) 
 

□ NCETMB (NCBTMB) □ MBLEX (FSMTB) 
 

□ NCETM (NCBTMB) 
 

 
Please provide official/sealed proof from the exam service sent directly to the SD Board of Massage Therapy. 

Copies will not be accepted. 
 
 
PROOF OF MALPRACTICE OR PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE 

 
Malpractice or professional liability insurance coverage of at least $250,000 is required by law (SDCL 36-35-21) for 
your licensure.  The applicant must be a named insured of the coverage.   

 
Please provide the following information for your insurance coverage.  If your insurance coverage expires during the 
term of your massage license, you are required by law to renew it. 
 
Please include proof of your malpractice or professional liability insurance coverage by submitting a copy of your 
declarations page or certificate of insurance form your policy with this application. 
 
Effective 

Date 
Expiration 

Date 
Carrier Name Policy Number Coverage 

Amount 
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LEGAL QUESTIONS  (If you answer yes to any question, please provide a written explanation.) 
 
Have you been convicted of or pled guilty to a felony, any crime involving or relating to the practice of massage, or 
any crime involving dishonesty or moral turpitude?      YES         NO 

 
Have you been disciplined with a reprimand, censure, suspension, temporary suspension, probation, revocation, or refusal 
to renew a professional license in any state?               YES    NO 

 
Are you $1,000 or more behind in child support payments?      YES    NO 

 
  OTHER LICENSES 
 

Do you currently hold a valid license to practice massage therapy in another state or the District of Columbia? 
   YES   NO  
 
If Yes, which state(s)? _____________________________________________________________________ 
(If yes, please attach a copy of the current license.  A letter of from the issuing state must be sent to the SD Board of 
Massage Therapy.) 

 
ASSOCIATIONS/3rd PARTY COMMUNICATIONS 
 
Are you a member of a national massage therapy association?    YES    NO 
 

If Yes, which association: _______ABMP  _______AMTA  _______NAMT  _______Other 
 
Would you like to receive mailings about continuing education opportunities from third parties?  _____ YES  _____ NO 

 
 STATISTICAL INFORMATION 
 
 These questions are asked for statistical purposes.  Your answers are optional. 
 

Do you practice massage therapy:                    Full Time                       Part Time                        Do Not Practice 
 
What is your gender?                    Female                         Male 
 
What is your race?  Please check all that apply. 
 
 □ Asian 
 □  American Indian or Alaska Native  
 □ Black or African American 
 □ Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 
 □ Hispanic or Latino 
 □  White or Caucasian 
 □ Other 
 □  Decline to Provide   
   

APPLICATION/LICENSE FEE Please include a personal check, cashier’s check, certified check or money 
order made payable to the State of South Dakota for the applicable amount. 

 

□ $75 non-refundable application fee 
 

□ $45 licensing fee (refundable if application is denied) 
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BY MY SIGNATURE BELOW, I VERIFY, UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY,THAT I AM THE LICENSEE COMPLETING 
THIS APPLICATION AND THAT ALL INFORMATION SUBMITTED IS TRUE AND CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY 
KNOWLEDGE.  I FURTHER UNDERSTAND THAT FALSE OR INCORRECT INFORMATION, OMMISSIONS, 
INACCURACIES OR FAILURES TO MAKE FULL DISCLOSURE MAY RESULT IN THE CANCELLATION OR DENIAL 
OF A LICENSE ISSUED PURSUANT TO THIS APPLICATION AND MAY BE SUBJECT TO CIVIL AND CRIMINAL 
PROCEEDINGS.  I AGREE ALL INFORMATION IN THIS APPLICATION CAN BE VERIFIED AND INVESTIGATED.  I 
HAVE READ, AND AM FAMILIAR WITH THE SOUTH DAKOTA CODIFIED LAWS AND ADMINISTARTIVE RULES 
REGULATING MASSAGE THERAPY AND HEREBY AGREE TO ABIDE BY SUCH LAWS AND REGULATIONS. 
	
  

To be signed in the presence of a Notary Public 
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
Signature of Applicant Date 

	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  

State of ) 
) SS 

County of   ) 
	
  

On this   day of   , 20   , the above applicant   personally appeared, known to me or 

satisfactorily proven to be the same person whose name is subscribed to the written instrument, and acknowledged that she/he 

executed the same for the purposes therein contained. In witness whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and official seal. 
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  

(SEAL)   , Notary Public 
	
  
Notary Printed Name    

	
  
My Commission Expires    

	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  

For Office Use Only: Check #   Amount   Date 
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South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy 
P.O. Box 340, 1351 N. Harrison Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501-1079 

Ph.: 605-224-1721 Fax: 888-425-3032 
	
  

E-mail:  SDBMT@midwestsolutionssd.com www.doh.sd.gov/boards/Massage 
	
  

	
  
	
  

VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION FORM 
	
  

Verification of Education Form must be completed by the School President or Program Director and submitted with 
official transcripts. 

	
  
APPLICANT/STUDENT 

	
  
Name:    

	
  
SCHOOL 

	
  
1.    Name:     

	
  
2.    Address:    

	
  
3.   Qualifications: 

	
   The school listed above meets one of the following criteria (check one and provide official proof): 
o Licensed or approved by the State Board of Massage Therapy where that training facility is located: 

OR 
o Nationally Accredited by one of the following (check one and provide official proof) 

o Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) 
o Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS) 
o National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS) 
o Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET) 
o Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSCT) 
o Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training Council (DETC) 
o Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
o Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES) 
o Other:    

	
  
4.    Date of Admission:    Date of Completion:   

Date of Graduation:    Credential Award:   
	
  

Subject (In-class instructor supervised coursework) Hours of Classroom Instruction 
(1 credit = 10 hrs of classroom instruction 

Human Anatomy, Physiology, and Kinesiology (to include all 11 systems of the human body) 
• Minimum of 125 hours required 

	
  

Clinical Pathology and recognition of various conditions 
• Minimum of 40 hours required 

	
  

Massage/Bodywork Theory, Assessment and Application 
• Minimum of 200 hours required 

	
  

Training in an area or related field that theoretically complete the massage program 
• Minimum of 125 hours required 

	
  

Business Practices and Professionalism 
• Minimum of 10 hours total required (to include 6 clock hours of ethics) 

	
   # Ethics Hours 

Other: 	
  
Total Hours 	
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Verification must be made by the School President or Program Director. The completed Verification of Education Form 
can be sent directly to the South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy at P.O. Box 340, Pierre, SD 57501-1079 or provided 
to the Student/Applicant in a sealed envelope along with official transcripts. 
	
  

To be signed in the presence of a Notary Public 
	
  

	
  
	
  
I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF, THE FOREGOING IS A TRUE 
STATEMENT OF THE RECORD OF THE INDIVIDUAL NAMED ON THIS FORM. 

	
  

	
  
	
  
Signature:    
	
  
Printed Name:    
	
  
Title /Position:    
	
  
Phone:    Date:    

	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  

State of ) 
) SS 

County of   ) 
	
  

On this _  day of   , 20   , the above   personally appeared, known to me or 

satisfactorily proven to be the same person whose name is subscribed to the written instrument, and acknowledged that she/he 

executed the same for the purposes therein contained. In witness whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and official seal. 
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  

(SEAL)   , Notary Public 
	
  
Notary Printed Name    

	
  
My Commission Expires    

	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  

For Office Use Only: Received    
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