Doneen Hollingsworth, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy

Jennifer Stalley
Executive Secretary

PO Box #340, 1351 N. Harrison Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-224-1721
Fax: 1-888-425-3032

Your license to practice massage therapy expires on September 30, 2014.  You may renew your license beginning on August 1st.    You may renew your license by downloading the Renewal Application and sending the completed application and required fee and documentation to the Board’s office by September 30, 2014, or you may renew using the Board’s online renewal system.


To access the online renewal system click here: You may pay your renewal fee with a credit or debit card if using the online renewal system.

The mission of the South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy is to protect the health and safety of the public by mandatory licensure of qualified persons and enforcement of the statutes, rules, and regulations governing the practice of massage therapy, including processing and investigating properly filed complaints and holding hearings as warranted. 

The 2013 South Dakota State Legislature amended various sections of SDCL 36-35 impacting licensure for massage therapists.  Check this handout for an explanation of the changes that went into effect on July 1, 2013.

Board Members

SDCL 36-35-2. The Board is legislated to have 5 board members appointed by the Governor. One member shall be a person not licensed by the board and four shall be licensed by the board. Currently serving are:

Laura Woitte, LMT, Sioux Falls - President

Linda Zeller, Lay Member, Pierre - Vice President
Karen Kappel, LMT, Dell Rapids - Secretary
Bridget Myers, LMT, Sioux Falls

Christine Ellwein, LMT, Pierre

Quick Links