Doneen Hollingsworth, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Examiners in Optometry

Board Meeting Minutes

April 27, 2011

Tieszen Law Office Conference Room
Pierre, South Dakota
9:00 a.m.

1.     Attendance

Board members present were Dr. Kollis-Young, Dr. Hartford, Dr. Garrity, Nancy Van Camp, and Dr. Bartlett. Also present were Naomi Cromwell, Tieszen Law Office; Ann Meyer, Attorney General’s Office; and Deni Amundson, Board Executive Secretary.


2.     Approve minutes from October 25, 2010, and March 14, 2011.
Dr. Bartlett moved, seconded by Nancy Van Camp, to approve the minutes of the October 25, 2010, and March 14, 2011, meetings. Motion passed.


3.     Approve treasurer’s report

Dr. Garrity moved, seconded by Dr. Hartford, to approve the treasurer’s report and purchase new file cabinet. Motion passed.


4.    Board review and approve CE courses
Board reviewed and approved continuing education courses by individual signature vote.


5.     Old Business
a.     Board Certification- Deni Amundson will research AOS and AOA programs. Tabled until next meeting.


6.    New Business
a.  Procedural Codes 83037GW and 82962- Dr. Hartford moved that these codes may not be billed
      for. Seconded by Dr. Garrity. Motion passed.

b. Licensing for temporary volunteer services- In an effort to enforce our existing laws, all
     optometrists must be licensed in South Dakota to practice in this state. No  action taken.

c. Endorsement application- Approval by signature vote pending satisfactory office inspection.

d. Review of administrative Rule Chapters 20:50:06 and 20:50:07- No action taken.

e. At 4:21 Dr. Garrity moved, seconded by Dr. Hartford, to enter into executive session pursuant to
    SDCL 1-23-2 (3) to consult with legal counsel. The president declared the board out of executive
    session at 4:24.


7.     Time and Place of Next Meeting

October 14, 2011, 9:00 a.m., Tieszen Law Office, Pierre, S.D.


8.     Adjournment
Dr. Bartlett moved for adjournment, seconded by Dr. Hartford. Motion passed.