Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy

Jennifer Stalley
Executive Secretary

PO Box #340, 1351 N. Harrison Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-224-1721
Fax: 1-888-425-3032

Your license to practice massage therapy expires on September 30, 2015.  You may renew your license beginning on August 1.    You may renew your license by downloading the Renewal Application and sending the completed application and required fee and documentation to the Board’s office by September 30, 2015, or you may renew using the Board’s online renewal system.

To access the online renewal system, click here: You may pay your renewal fee with a credit or debit card if using the online renewal system.

If you experience difficulties with the online renewal system, please contact the Board office at 605-224-1721.

NEWS: The South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy is seeking comments, suggestions and recommendations for changes to the massage therapy practice act - learn about the proposed changes and how you can provide input.

The mission of the South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy is to protect the health and safety of the public by mandatory licensure of qualified persons and enforcement of the statutes, rules, and regulations governing the practice of massage therapy, including processing and investigating properly filed complaints and holding hearings as warranted. 

Board Members

SDCL 36-35-2. The Board is legislated to have 5 board members appointed by the Governor. One member shall be a person not licensed by the board and four shall be licensed by the board. Currently serving are:

Karen Kappel, LMT, Dell Rapids, President

Linda Zeller, Lay Member, Pierre, Vice President

Christine Ellwein, LMT, Pierre, Secretary

Bridget Myers, LMT, Sioux Falls

Margaret Johnson, LMT, Sioux Falls

Quick Links