Melissa Magstadt, South Dakota Secretary of Health

State Designated Trauma Hospitals

  • Listing of South Dakota hospitals (select "hospital" from the License Certification or Registration Type drop down menu)
  • For a complete list of designation requirements, please see definitions here.

  • Designated Regional Trauma Hospital ( RTH)  

    • Currently verified American College of Surgeons Level II Trauma Center
    • Trauma surgeon at all trauma team activations
    • Neurosurgery continuously and promptly available

    Monument Health – Rapid City
    Avera McKennan Hospital and University Health Center – Sioux Falls
    Sanford USD Medical Center – Sioux Falls

    Designated Area Trauma Hospital ( ATH)

    • Currently verified American College of Surgeons Level III Trauma Center
    • Continuous surgical coverage of emergency department
    • 24/7 in-house physician coverage of emergency department
    • Orthopedic surgery on-call 24/7

    Avera St. Luke's Hospital – Aberdeen

    Designated Community Trauma Hospital (CTH)

    • Surgical coverage of emergency department for all trauma team activations 80% of calendar year, minimum
    • Trauma transfer guidelines in place when surgery not available
    • 24/7 physician coverage of emergency department

    Sanford Aberdeen Hospital – Aberdeen
    Huron Regional Medical Center – Huron

    Avera Queen of Peace Hospital – Mitchell
    Mobridge Regional Hospital – Mobridge
    Avera St. Mary's Hospital – Pierre
    Spearfish Regional Hospital – Spearfish
    Prairie Lakes Hospital – Watertown
    Winner Regional Healthcare Center Winner

    Designated Trauma Receiving Hospital (TRH)

    • 24/7 emergency department coverage by physician, physician assistant or nurse practitioner
    • No surgical services required

    Douglas County Memorial Hospital – Armour
    Bowdle Hospital – Bowdle
    Marshall County Healthcare Center– Britton
    Brookings Hospital – Brookings
    Community Memorial Hospital – Burke
    Sanford Canton-Inwood Medical Center – Canton
    Sanford Health - Medical Center – Chamberlain
    Sanford Medical Center Clear Lake – Clear Lake
    Custer Regional Hospital – Custer
    Lead-Deadwood Regional  Hospital – Deadwood
    Avera Dells Area Health Care Center – Dell Rapids
    Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital – DeSmet
    Eureka Community Hospital – Eureka
    Faulkton Area Medical Center – Faulkton
    Avera Flandreau Medical Center – Flandreau
    Freeman Regional Health Services – Freeman
    Gettysburg Medical Center – Gettysburg
    Avera Gregory Healthcare Center – Gregory
    Fall River Health Services – Hot Springs
    Madison Regional Health System –  Madison
    Bennett County Hospital – Martin

    Milbank Area Hospital Avera Health – Milbank
    Avera Hand County Memorial Hospital – Miller
    Avera St. Benedict Health Center – Parkston
    Hans P. Peterson Memorial Hospital – Philip
    Platte Health Center Avera – Platte
    Community Memorial Hospital – Redfield
    Landmann-Jungman Memorial Hospital Scotland
    Coteau Des Prairies Hospital – Sisseton
    Sturgis Regional Hospital – Sturgis
    St. Michael's Hospital – Tyndall
    Sanford Vermillion Medical Center – Vermillion
    Pioneer Memorial Hospital – Viborg
    Wagner Community Memorial Hospital – Wagner
    Avera Weskota Memorial Medical Center – Wessington Springs
    Sanford Hospital Webster – Webster
    Avera Sacred Heart Hospital – Yankton

    Designated Non-Trauma Hospital (NTH)

    • Licensed specialty hospitals only
    • Trauma transfer protocols in place in the event a trauma is received

    Dakota Plains Surgical Center – Aberdeen
    Siouxland Surgery Center – Dakota Dunes
    Black Hills Surgical Hospital – Rapid City
    Avera Heart Hospital of South Dakota – Sioux Falls
    Children’s Care Hospital and School – Sioux Falls
    Sioux Falls Surgical Hospital – Sioux Falls
    Spearfish Regional Surgery Center – Spearfish
    Lewis and Clark Specialty Hospital – Yankton
    South Dakota Human Services Center – Yankton

    Share via: