Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secretary of Health

State Designated Trauma Hospitals

For a complete list of designation requirements, please see definitions here.

Designated Regional Trauma Hospital ( RTH)  

  • Currently verified American College of Surgeons Level II Trauma Center
  • Trauma surgeon at all trauma team activations
  • Neurosurgery continuously and promptly available

Avera McKennan Hospital and University Health Center – Sioux Falls
Rapid City Regional Hospital – Rapid City
Sanford USD Medical Center – Sioux Falls

Designated Area Trauma Hospital ( ATH)

  • Currently verified American College of Surgeons Level III Trauma Center
  • Continuous surgical coverage of emergency department
  • 24/7 in-house physician coverage of emergency department
  • Orthopedic surgery on-call 24/7

Avera St. Luke's Hospital – Aberdeen
Spearfish Regional Hospital – Spearfish

Designated Community Trauma Hospital (CTH)

  • Surgical coverage of emergency department for all trauma team activations 80% of calendar year, minimum
  • Trauma transfer guidelines in place when surgery not available
  • 24/7 physician coverage of emergency department

Avera Queen of Peace Hospital – Mitchell

Huron Regional Medical Center – Huron
Madison Community Hospital –  Madison
Mobridge Regional Hospital – Mobridge

Sanford Aberdeen Hospital – Aberdeen
St. Mary's Healthcare Center – Pierre
Prairie Lakes Hospital – Watertown
Winner Regional Healthcare Center Winner
Avera Sacred Heart Hospital – Yankton

Designated Trauma Receiving Hospital (TRH)

  • 24/7 emergency department coverage by physician, physician assistant or nurse practitioner
  • No surgical services required

Douglas County Memorial Hospital – Armour
Bowdle Hospital – Bowdle
Marshall County Healthcare Center– Britton
Brookings Hospital – Brookings
Community Memorial Hospital – Burke
Sanford Canton-Inwood Medical Center – Canton
Sanford Health - Medical Center – Chamberlain
Sanford Medical Center Clear Lake – Clear Lake
Custer Regional Hospital – Custer
Lead-Deadwood Regional  Hospital – Deadwood
Avera Dells Area Health Care Center – Dell Rapids
Avera DeSmet Memorial Hospital – DeSmet
Eureka Community Hospital – Eureka
Faulkton Area Medical Center – Faulkton
Avera Flandreau Medical Center – Flandreau
Freeman Regional Health Services – Freeman
Gettysburg Medical Center – Gettysburg
Avera Gregory Healthcare Center – Gregory
Fall River Health Services – Hot Springs
Bennett County Hospital – Martin
Milbank Area Hospital Avera Health – Milbank
Avera Hand County Memorial Hospital – Miller
Avera St. Benedict Health Center – Parkston
Hans P. Peterson Memorial Hospital – Philip
Platte Health Center Avera – Platte
Community Memorial Hospital – Redfield
Landmann-Jungman Memorial Hospital Scotland
Coteau Des Prairies Hospital – Sisseton
Sturgis Regional Hospital – Sturgis
St. Michael's Hospital – Tyndall
Sanford Vermillion Medical Center – Vermillion
Pioneer Memorial Hospital – Viborg
Wagner Community Memorial Hospital – Wagner
Avera Weskota Memorial Medical Center – Wessington Springs
Sanford Hospital Webster – Webster

Designated Non-Trauma Hospital (NTH)

  • Licensed specialty hospitals only
  • Trauma transfer protocols in place in the event a trauma is received

Dakota Plains Surgical Center – Aberdeen
Black Hills Surgical Hospital – Rapid City
Siouxland Surgery Center – Dakota Dunes
Avera Heart Hospital of South Dakota – Sioux Falls
Children’s Care Hospital and School – Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Surgical Hospital – Sioux Falls
Lewis and Clark Specialty Hospital – Yankton
South Dakota Human Services Center – Yankton
Spearfish Regional Surgery Center – Spearfish

Share via: