
 

 

 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
 
Licensure and Certification 
615 East 4th Street 
Pierre, SD 57501-1700 
605-773-3356 FAX: 605-773-6667 
 
July 1, 2009 

Controlled 
Substance 

Registration 
 
 
 
 
$150.00 FEE REQUIRED - INSTRUCTIONS on REVERSE 
FEE MUST ACCOMPANY APPLICATION or RENEWAL 
 
APPLICANT NAME        
 
BUSINESS NAME       MAILING ADDRESS (if different from business address) 
BUSINESS ADDRESS              
                              
BUSINESS PHONE             
 
EMAIL ADDRESS      FAX NUMBER      
 
SD PROFESSIONAL LICENSE#    DEA#      EXP. DATE   
               (attach photo copy of certificate) 

 
PROFESSIONAL BUSINESS ACTIVITY (Check the appropriate box) 

Nurse Practitioner  Nurse Midwife  Physician Assistant 
 
DRUG SCHEDULES AUTHORIZED BY SUPVERVISING/COLLABORATING PHYSICAN 
(Check the appropriate box) 

Schedule I  Schedule II    Schedule III  Schedule IV 
   Schedule II Non-narcotic  Schedule III Non-narcotic 
 
Supervising/collaborating Physician South Dakota Medical License Number       
Supervising/collaborating Physician DEA Number                  (attach photocopy) 
Supervising/collaborating Physician (Signature)       Date   
 
ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING: 
Has the applicant or any officer or partner been  
convicted of a felony under state or federal law  
relating to the manufacture, distribution, or  
dispensing of controlled substances?                                                                                                

Has the applicant or any officer or partner 
surrendered any previous registration or    
professional license or had any previous    
registration or professional license, state or 
federal, revoked, suspended, or denied?  

                      
(write “yes” or “no”)     (write “yes” or “no”) 

 
If you have answered “yes” to either statement, please attach a notarized statement showing details. 
 
I hereby apply for my South Dakota Controlled Substance Registration in accordance with South Dakota Codified Law 34-
20B. 
 
Signature______________________________________________Date__________________________ 
 
Every person who prescribes manufactures, distributes, or dispenses any controlled drug or substance within this state, or who proposes to 
engage in the prescribing manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of any controlled drug or substance within this state, shall obtain annually 
a registration issued by the department according to the rules promulgated under this chapter.  (SDCL 34:20B:29) 
 
The department is authorized to inspect the establishment of a registrant or applicant for registration in accordance with the rules 
promulgated under this chapter.  (SDCL 34:20B:40) 
               
OFFICE USE ONLY 
 

Approval Referred to DEA      SD Controlled Substance # Issued    
 
Date CS # Issued       Expiration Date      
 
Fee       Check #     



SOUTH DAKOTA CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE REGISTRATION 

INSTRUCTIONS 

1. Fee required (ARSD 44:58:03:02.1)
$150 fee required for initial application and renewal.  Fee must accompany application.
Fee is non-refundable and not pro-rated.  Make check, money order, or cashier’s check payable to the South Dakota 
Department of Health.

2. The name and address of the proposed business or professional office in South Dakota must be included on
your application.  A street address or legal description, rather than a post office box number is required.
Include your business, home and fax telephone numbers as well as your home address.

3. Indicate your South Dakota professional license number.  If your respective licensing board has not issued your 
professional license, write “pending”.

4. Indicate your federal DEA number.  If you have applied for a DEA number but it has not been issued, write
“pending”.  DEA numbers are location specific, but can be transferred, by notifying the DEA office and the SD 
Department of Health.  Attach a photo copy of your DEA certificate to the application.  If you are completing
a renewal application:  Enclose a photocopy of your NEW DEA certificate, not the one currently
expiring.  You may hold your renewal until you receive your certificate from the DEA or attach a copy of your DEA 
renewal application.

5. Indicate the professional discipline for which you are requesting registration.  Midlevel practitioners
applications must indicate a supervising/collaborating physician, the presence of a practice agreement, list the South 
Dakota medical license number of the physician, provide a copy of the physician’s DEA registration at a South Dakota 
location and include the signature of the supervising/collaborating physician.

6. Indicate the schedules of controlled substances for which you are requesting registration.  Your Federal registration 
must coincide with the schedules you request on your state registration.  All controlled substances listed in federal 
schedule V are included in SD schedule IV.  Your controlled substance registration grants prescriptive authority as 
outlined by the practice agreement with your supervising/collaborating physician.

7. Answer the questions regarding previous felony convictions or surrender of professional license or controlled 
substance registration.  If you answer “yes” to either question, attach a notarized statement explaining the
details.

8. Date and sign the application.

9. Prescribing at more than one location is permissible under a single registration.  Each location where controlled 
substances are stored or maintained requires separate registration.

10. If you have any questions, please call the Department of Health at (605) 773-3356.

11. Forms should be mailed to:  Licensure and Certification, Department of Health, 615 E 4th Street, Pierre, SD 
57501-1700.

12. ATTENTION: After getting your controlled substance registration number, register with the South Dakota 
Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (SD PDMP). The South Dakota Department of Health supports practitioner 
participation in the SD PDMP program to improve patient care and reduce the misuse and abuse of controlled substances. 
Visit http://doh.sd.gov/boards/pharmacy/pdmp.aspx to learn how to register for an account in PMP AWARxE. If you 
have any questions about the SD PDMP, please contact Melissa DeNoon at the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy (605) 
362-2737.

http://doh.sd.gov/boards/pharmacy/pdmp.aspx
http://doh.sd.gov/boards/pharmacy/pdmp.aspx



