SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL MIDWIVES
27705 460th Ave, Chancellor, SD 57015
Phone: 605-743-4451 Email: cpmsdlicense@gmail.com
https://doh.sd.gov/licensing-and-records/boards/certified-professional-midwives/

Application for Certified Professional Midwife License Renewal

Licensure renewal information and fees must be received by the South Dakota Board of Certified Professional
Midwives office by your license expiration date or your license will lapse. It is illegal to practice professional
midwifery in South Dakota without an active CPM license. You are responsible to maintain licensure whether
or not you receive a renewal notice.

All forms and fees must be postmarked on or before your expiration date to avoid lapsing.

Please follow instructions carefully to avoid delays in processing your renewal. If any information is incorrect,
incomplete or illegible, processing may be delayed. Upon receipt of all forms and fees at the South Dakota Board of
Certified Professional Midwives office your application will be considered for renewal. You will be notified if additional
information is required.

To RENEW your CPM license, submit the following to the South Dakota Board of Certified Professional Midwives
office:
o Completed Application for CPM License Renewal Form
e Completed Verification of Experience Form
e Fee: $1500
e Payment should be in the form of a money order or personal check payable to South Dakota Board of
Certified Professional Midwives. Fees are non-refundable and must accompany form. A $40 fee will be
charged for any insufficient check written.
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Application to Renew CPM License

I request to RENEW:
SD CPM License Number:

Name(Last): (First): (Middle):
Address:

City: State: Zip:
Telephone(Home): (Work): (Cell):
Date of Birth: / / Email Address:

Disciplinary Information

If “YES” is answered to any of the below questions please attach a detailed explanation. You must
also submit copies of charges or citations and ALL communication with (to and from) the citing
agency AND the court of jurisdiction, including evidence of completion / compliance with court
requirements.

Please report all instances not previously reported to the board. Have you ever:

1. | Committed fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation in procuring or

attempting to procure a license? COYes CONo
2. | Aided or abetted an unlicensed person to practice as a certified

professional midwife in South Dakota? OYes CINo
3. | Engaged in practice as a certified professional midwife under a false or

assumed name and failed to register that name pursuant to chapter 37-11 [Yes CONo

or impersonated a license holder of a like or different name.

4. | Committed an alcohol or drug related act or offense that interferes with

the ability to practice midwifery safely? COYes ONo
5. | Negligently, willfully, or intentionally acted in a manner inconsistent with
the health and safety of those entrusted to your care as a certified OYes ONo

professional midwife?

6. | Had the authorization to practice as a certified professional midwife
denied, revoked, or suspended or had other disciplinary action taken in CYes ONo
another state?

7. | Violated any provision of Chapter 36-9C or rule pursuant to 36-9C?

CIYes CINo
8. | Been convicted of a misdemeanor and/or felony?

CIYes CINo
9. | Engaged in substandard, unprofessional, or dishonorable conduct?

CIYes CINo
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Verification of Experience Form

NARM CPM certification current;: No Yes
Effective Dates : From To
Submit copy if renewed during the past licensure period

Are you a NARM CPM approved preceptor? No Yes
Do you have any students? No Yes

Continuing education units taken:

Have you obtained a license in another state(s) since previous licensing period? No Yes
If yes: Where

Do you have an active license in another state(s)? No Yes
If yes: Where

According to SDCL:36-9C-16 (3) Evidence that the license holder has a minimum of 140 hours in
the preceding 12-month period, or 480 hours in the preceding 6-year period, of patient care,
employment, or volunteer work in midwifery;

Are you currently working as a CPM? No Yes 12-month ____ or 6-year
Births attended

Average hours of care given
Estimated hours served

If no, are you:
___Retired
____Inactive
___Volunteer Volunteer hours

I, the undersigned, declare and affirm under the penalties or perjury that this application for licensure
renewal in the state of South Dakota has been examined by me, and to the best of my knowledge and
belief, is in all things correct and true.

Signature of Applicant: Date:

The board may request a review of your records to verify the hours specified on this form
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