
For Board Use Only—Hearing Aid Dispensers Application 

 

Date Application Received      Application Fee $     $    

         CK#     CK#    

Date of Written Examination      P/F 

Date of Practicum Examination      P/F 

Date Provisional License Issued     Provisional License Number      

Date Permanent License Issued     Permanent License Number      

Child Support Data Bank Checked      

 

BOARD OF HEARING AID DISPENSERS AND AUDIOLOGISTS 

810 North Main #298, Spearfish, SD 57783 (605) 642-1600 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO PRACTICE THE FITTING AND SALE OF HEARING AIDS 
 

Type of license requested for Hearing Aid Dispenser:  ____Permanent ($200.00)   ____Provisional ($100.00) 
 

Applicant’s Name:              
    (Last)   (First)   (Initial)   (Maiden) 
 

Mailing Address:              
   (Street or P.O. Box)  (City)   (State)   (Zip) 
 

Home Telephone:  (  )    
 

Date of Birth:       Social Security Number:       
 

Email Address:         
 

Race (please circle one):      White      Black or African American      American Indian or Alaskan Native     

Asian     Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Island      Not Listed or Prefer Not to Answer     Not Applicable 
 

Gender (please circle one):      Male     Female      Prefer Not to Answer      Not Applicable 
 

Ethnicity (please circle one):      Hispanic      Non-Hispanic      Prefer Not to Answer      Not Applicable 
 

Employer Name:              
   (Firm Name)      (Telephone Number) 
 

              
 (Street and P.O. Box if any)   (City)  (State)  (Zip) 

 list both street and P.O. Box 
 

Employing Facility:              
    (Firm Name)    (City)  (State) 
 

Employer Business Type (please circle one):      Unknown      Individual      Partnership Corporation   

Association      LLC      LLP      Other 
 

I am employed: Full Time  Part Time  
 

The Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers and Audiologists does adhere to the Human Relations act of 1972 and 

therefore does not discriminate against applicants on the basis of race, sex, religion or national origin.  In 

accordance with the American Disabilities Act if you so desire special accommodations please contact this 

office six weeks prior to the exam. 
 

Application Form Revised June 2014 



EDUCATION 
 

High School:            Year Graduated:    

Please have proof of high school diploma or GED sent directly to the board office. 

 

EMPLOYMENT RECORD FOR LAST 5 YEARS  (Please attach an additional sheet, if necessary.) 

Employer Name and Address  Date of   Your   Supervisor’s 

     Employment  Position  Name 

 

                

 

                

 

                

 

PERSONAL REFERENCES 
 

 Name    Street Address    City & State   Zip 

1.                
 

2.                
 

3.                
 

MISCELLANEOUS 
 

1.  Have you ever been convicted of a crime other than misdemeanor traffic offenses?   Yes      No 

     If yes, give complete details on a separate sheet, including copies of the court’s judgement and any written  

    decisions in that case. 
 

2.  To your knowledge, has a complaint ever been filed against you, or a company owned by you, with the 

     National Committee on Ethics of the Hearing Aid Industry, the Federal Trade Commissioner or any state 

     licensure board?     Yes       No 

     If yes, give complete details on a separate sheet, including copies of the court’s judgment and any written  

     decisions in that case. 
 

3.  Are you currently or have you ever been licensed in another state?    Yes       No 

     If yes, in which state or states?            

     Please complete your portion of the Verification of Out-of-State Licensure Form and forward to the other  

     states for completion and for the State Licensure board to return directly to the South Dakota board office. 
 

4.  Has any state rejected your application or revoked your professional license or certificate?    Yes      No 

     If yes, give complete details on a separate sheet. 
 

5.  Have you taken and passed the IHS examination?    Yes       No 

     If yes, please have scores sent directly to Board office by IHS or the verifying state. 
 

6.  SDCL 25-A-56 prohibits the issuance of a license of any state regulated license if an applicant owes $1,000  

     or more in past due child support.  Do you owe $1,000 or more in past due child support?    Yes       No 

 

7.  Is your spouse an active duty member of the armed forces?    Yes       No 

     If yes, was your spouse subject to military transfer to South Dakota?    Yes       No 

     If yes, did you leave employment to accompany your spouse to South Dakota?    Yes       No 



By applying for licensure to the South Dakota Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers and Audiologist, I: 

 

* Authorize Board representatives to consult with others who have been associated with me and/or who may 

have information regarding my competence and qualifications. 

 

* Consent to Board representatives’ inspection of all records and documents that may be material to an 

evaluation of my professional qualifications and competence to carry out the privileges I request, of my 

physical and metal health status and of my professional and ethical qualifications. 

 

* Release from any liability all Board representatives or any state licensure board for their acts performed in 

good faith and without malice in connection with evaluation of me and my credentials. 

 

* Release from any liability all individuals and organizations who provide information, including otherwise 

privileged or confidential information, to the South Dakota Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers and Audiologists 

in good faith, and without malice concerning my competence, professional ethics, character, physical and 

mental health, emotional stability, and other qualifications for staff appointment and clinical privileges. 

 

* I declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury that the application has been examined by me, and to the 

best of my knowledge and belief, is in all things true and correct. 

 

 

                

       Applicant’s Signature 

 

         

Print Name (as it is to appear on license) 

 

         

Date 

 

 

AFFIDAVIT 

 

State of      

       SS 

County of      

 

 

The applicant    , being duly sworn, declares all statements made in this application are 

true and correct to the best of his or her knowledge.  Furthermore the applicant consents to a thorough 

investigation of present and past employment and other activities for the purpose of verifying qualifications for 

the License for which this application is made. 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this    day of              ,                       . 

 

My commission expires               

              Notary Public 



GENERAL LICENSURE APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 

Every licensee is required to comply with the laws of the State of South Dakota and the Rules and Regulations 

adopted by the board.   
 

1.  Application for licensure must be notarized. 
 

2.  Application for licensure must be accompanied by payment of fee made payable to the “State of South 

Dakota Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers and Audiologists.”  Fees are non-refundable.  No application will be 

processed without submission of all fees. 
 

3.  All documents submitted in support of the application must contain an original signature and be submitted 

directly to the board from the respondent, not forwarded through the applicant. 
 

4.  Return completed application and fee to the board office.  A personal check or money order payable to the 

Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers and Audiologists is acceptable. 
 

5.  You will be notified by mail of the date, time, and place at which you shall present yourself for a practicum 

examination if such action is determined by the board.  Bring the audiometer, other testing equipment that you 

use and a supply of ear impression material with you to the examination.  A letter with additional information 

will be sent to you upon Board approval. 
 

6.  The written examination is arranged for you through the Board office. 
 

7.  The Board will not review the qualifications of a candidate without receipt of a completed application form, 

supporting documents, and the fee.  Failure to provide all the information on the Application Form will result in 

delay of processing your application. 
 

8.  All applications for a provisional license must be accompanied by a sponsor’s affidavit. 
 

 

GUIDELINES FOR HEARING AID DISPENSER APPLICATIONS BY EXAMINATION 
 

It is the duty of the applicant to secure a sponsor who will train and guide the applicant, using the following 

guidelines: 
 

1. Applicants must have a thorough understanding of the FDA hearing aid regulations and the  

IHS Code of Ethics and be able to apply them as required. 
 

2. Applicants are graded on sanitary habits and proper sterilization of equipment. 
 

3. Applicants must be familiar with the Audiometer in use and all its functions.  A full audiogram will  

be required, including Aid Conduction, Bone Conduction, Masking, Speech Reception Threshold, 

Speech Recognition, Most Conformable Level, and Uncomfortable Level.  The applicant must be able to 

define and interpret conductive, mixed and sensorineural types of hearing loss from audiogram 

examples. 


