

# SD EMT Continuing Education for Recertification Information Booklet

20 Hours following National Registry's "National Component" Requirements + CPR/AED Certification



**Updated January 1, 2021** 

EMS Program 600 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, South Dakota 57501 Office: (605) 773-4031

EMS.sd.gov

### **NOTE:**

Recertification is done online via the EMS Program's E-Licensing website

This booklet is for your reference only.

In the evet you are audited, you will need to provide the EMS Program proof of all the continuing education you claimed during your recertification cycle.

#### Dear SD Emergency Medical Technician,

Over the next two years, you will have the opportunity to increase your knowledge and skills through evidence based continuing education. South Dakota EMTs have several resources to choose from to obtain the twenty (20) CE hours needed for recertification. In order to better serve you, the EMS Program will continue to provide and approve the following CE resources as they meet current requirements:

- All internet hours approved through <a href="www.cecbems.org">www.cecbems.org</a> are approved through the State EMS Program for CE credit. You may use any online company providing EMS education/continuing education as long as it is accredited or approved by the EMS Program. Due to COVID-19, all 20 hours can be obtained via online (distributive) education for State recertification. CPR Healthcare Provider/AED Certification is in addition to the 20 hours we require and cannot count towards the 20 hours of specific topic training requirements.
- Instructors may apply to receive state approved CE credit for classes they are instructing which may count for EMT recertification.
- State approved refresher courses & other trainings will be searchable on our <u>E-Licensing Portal</u> website or can be accessed via the EMS Program's website at <u>EMS.sd.gov</u>. We will publish all approved courses including BTLS, PHTLS, AMLS, PEPP, PALS, and ACLS that we are notified of. This is a valuable tool for those wishing to further their education and professional growth as an EMS provider.
- EMTs will be allowed to submit their recertification materials online to our office for approval as early as January 2<sup>nd</sup> in the year of their expiration.
  - Online EMT Recertification is done by going to your account in our E-Licensing website and clicking on the "Applications" button in you menu list, then selecting the "SDEMS Application" and follow the instructions. You can also update your personal information, record your training hours, etc. throughout the year.
- Step-by-Step instruction sheets as well as videos on many areas of the E-Licensing System can be found by clicking *here*.
- Please ensure all training meets the new standards/requirements.

#### **Recertification Guidelines for Emergency Medical Technicians**

This document is designed to assist the EMT to understand and complete the biennial (two-year) recertification requirements. Each EMT is responsible to know the recertification requirements, obtain the required hours to recertify before their expiration date, and submitting the required recertification materials to the Emergency Medical Service Program online prior to expiration. It is your responsibility as an EMT to notify the EMS Program of any change in name, address, affiliation, or felony conviction(s).

The expiration date on your South Dakota EMT certification card is your official expiration date.

Recertification materials must be electronically submitted to the EMS Program no later than the March  $31^{\rm st}$  expiration date. Your recertification application can be submitted to the EMS Program as early as January  $2^{\rm nd}$  in the year of your expiration via our E-Licensing website. (The date your recertification application is processed will be the date you can begin to obtain recertification hours for your\_next recertification cycle.)

An EMT is required to be certified to act as an EMT on a SD licensed ambulance service. To avoid a lapse in your certification, all materials should be received by our office no later than March 15<sup>th</sup> of the recertification year. If a lapse in your state EMT certification occurs (at 12:01 am April 1<sup>st</sup>), you are no longer legally certified, and you will not act as an EMT on an ambulance service.

<u>Important</u>: If you are a National Registered EMT, your National Registry certification <u>does not</u> automatically renew your SD EMT certification. You must recertify with the State EMS Program online

#### **Recertification Requirements**

Continuing education hours are to be earned and used within the same biennial (two-year) recertification period

CPR certification is required of every state certified EMT. CPR certification must include all the following skills:

- CPR Healthcare Provider/AED
  - o Adult 1 and 2 rescuer CPR,
  - o Adult obstructed airway,
  - o Child 1 and 2 rescuer CPR,
  - o Child obstructed airway,
  - o Infant CPR, and
  - o Infant obstructed airway.

#### Verifications

The continuing education hours must be verified by either the class coordinator, instructor, training officer, Medical Director, or by a course completion certificate.

#### **Continuing Education Guidelines**

A continuing education hour is based on 50 minutes of participation. The education program should be organized around the training and responsibilities of the EMT and designed to meet the following specific objectives:

- A. Enhance the Emergency Medical Technician's understanding of clinical and operational roles and responsibilities,
- B. Enhance skills in patient assessment and in all emergency treatment procedures within the scope of the Emergency Medical Technician,
- C. Enhance skills in the use and maintenance of all emergency medical care equipment, and
- D. Provide opportunities for discussion, skills practice, and critiques.

## Mandatory Topic Requirements & Hours Required For Each Section

(20 Hours Total plus CPR/AED Certification)

## AIRWAY, RESPIRATIONS & VENTILATION – 1.5 HOURS

THE WITT, REST HETTONS & VENTERTION IN THE ORD
CARDIOVASCULAR – 6 HOURS
TRAUMA – 1.5 HOURS
MEDICAL – 6 HOURS
OPERATIONS – 5 HOURS
PLUS
CPR HEALTHCARE PROVIDER/AED
<ul> <li>Adult 1 and 2 rescuer CPR,</li> <li>Adult obstructed airway,</li> <li>Child 1 and 2 rescuer CPR,</li> <li>Child obstructed airway,</li> <li>Infant CPR, and</li> <li>Infant obstructed airway.</li> </ul>
Note – The South Dakota EMS Program <u>does not</u> accept the following resources as continuing education hours:
<ul> <li>Home Study Programs</li> <li>Performance of Duty</li> <li>Volunteering with EMS Agencies</li> <li>Clinical Observation</li> </ul>