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Funeral Trainee Application 
South Dakota Board of Funeral Service 

810 N. Main St. #298 

Spearfish, SD 57783 

office@sdlicensing.com 

 

Please type or print legibly in black or blue ink. Please note this application must be notarized and accompanied by an 

application fee of $25.00 

 

1. Full Name of Applicant  

Last First Middle Maiden 

 

2. Address      

Mailing City State Zip 

Home Phone No. ( ) Email:                                                                     

3. Social Security No. Date of Birth  

 

 

Please check either yes or no for each question in the appropriate section below. 

(All applicants must complete) Yes No 

4. Have you ever had a funeral service trainee license, or a funeral 

service license suspended, placed on probation, or otherwise 

disciplined in South Dakota or 

any other state? If yes, please attach a separate sheet of paper including an explanation. 

5. Are there any complaints currently pending against you as a funeral 

service licensee in South Dakota or in any other state? If yes, please 

attach a separate sheet of paper including an explanation. 

6. Have you been convicted, plead no contest/nolo contendere, plead guilty 

to, or been granted a deferred judgement or suspended imposition of 

sentence or had prosecution deferred with respect to a felony? 

 

7. Have you ever been convicted, plead no contest/nolo contendere, plead guilty to,  

 or been granted a deferred judgement or suspended imposition of sentence, or had  

 prosecution deferred with respect to a misdemeanor other than a class 2 misdemeanor  

 traffic offense? *it is the applicants responsibility to confirm whether the infraction is a  

class 1 or class 2 misdemeanor.  

 

 

For Board Use Only 

Date of Application  

Application Fee $  Check Number  

Trainee License Issued  Trainee Number   

Trainee Expiration Date    

Date Child Support Checked:     
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8. SDCL 25-7A-56 prohibits the issuance or renewal of any state regulated 

license if an applicant owes $1,000 or more in past due child support. Do 

you owe $1,000 or more in past due child support? 

 
*If you answered yes to question 7 or 8, provide a personal statement detailing the nature of the crime, whether you 

think the crime relates to your practice, and description of rehabilitation efforts. You must also submit copies of 

charges or citations and ALL communications (to and from) the citing agency AND the court of jurisdiction, 

including evidence of completion/compliance with court requirements. You must attach all communications for a 

violation to the signed and dated explanation of that violation. Please put correspondence in chronological order 

(most recent first). If you have more than one violation, please do the same for each violation. This does not include 

records that have been sealed, expunged, or pardoned 
  

 

10. Sponsor’s Name: License #  

Establishment Name: License #  

 

Address     

Mailing City State Zip 
 
Business Phone No. ( )  

 

11. Date you would like the traineeship to begin (Start date must be on the 1st of the month). 

12. Please mail my license to:  The Funeral Home  My Home Address 

 

13. Have you ever been previously licensed as a funeral service trainee in South Dakota?   

IF yes, Previous Trainee License # Location  

Name of Sponsor Dates  

14. Are you enrolled in an accredited mortuary science or funeral service program or received a degree 

from an accredited mortuary school? Yes   No   *If no, you are not eligible for the trainee license.  

      IF enrolled, please provide your anticipated graduation date:                           

*if enrolled, you must request that your mortuary program send proof of your enrollment 

directly to the board office as part of the application process.  

IF completed, please provide the date you graduated:                           

*if you’ve completed your mortuary program, you must request your mortuary program send 

official transcripts directly to the board office as part of the application process.  

  

 

15. Have you completed 90 total credit hours offered by an accredited institution of higher education? Please note, this 

includes credits obtained in the mortuary program. Yes   No  

IF no, please explain                                                                                                                                     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Continue to page 3 and 4 for affidavits/signatures—All 4 pages must be included 
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TRAINEE AFFIDAVIT 

 

I hereby state that I have fully read and understand the questions presented in this application and have answered them 

truthfully and completely. I acknowledge that my failure to make a full and accurate disclosure of any information called 

for herein may result in the denial of my application. I further acknowledge that any license I may obtain on the basis of 

this application may be revoked or suspended for my failure to disclose full and accurate information herein. 

I will furnish additional information or documentation as may be deemed necessary by the South Dakota State Board of 

Funeral Service for the verification of the information I have disclosed in this application. 

I will not hold myself out as a state licensed funeral service trainee until the license authorizing me to do so is in my 

possession. 

I will abide by ARSD 20:45:03:02, including but not limited to, notifying the board in writing of any changes in 

circumstances or supervision within 10 days of the event. This includes failure to maintain enrollment in a mortuary 

program. Further, I understand that activities being completed for credit towards an accredited mortuary science or 

funeral service program may not be used to satisfy the trainee requirements. I understand that failure to comply with 

any of the requirements in this section is grounds for licensure action pursuant to SDCL 36-19-38. 

 

I hereby declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing answers and statements are true and correct. 

 

I further swear that it is my intent, if accepted as a trainee, to diligently pursue Funeral Service Education until I ultimately 

become a Funeral Service Licensee in the State of South Dakota, that I will read and become familiar with and obey the 

laws of the State of South Dakota, the Rules and Regulations of the South Dakota State Board of Funeral Service, and abide 

with the terms of this Traineeship. 

 

MUST BE SIGNED IN 

PRESENCE OF NOTARY 

Applicant Signature Date of Signature 

 Subscribed and Sworn Before Me, this 

day of year 

Notary Public 

Embossed Seal or 

Rubber Stamp 

Notary Public Signature My Commission 

Expires 

Notary Public Name (Type or Printed) 
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SPONSOR AFFIDAVIT 

 
 

I, , sponsor for the above applicant being duly first sworn, 

 

state that I hold Funeral Service License No. , that I am associated with the  

Funeral Establishment in the city of  

 

where is employed and that I hereby agree to sponsor the 

above-named applicant in his/her traineeship. 

 

I attest that I have been licensed in good standing for at least 5 consecutive years immediately preceding becoming a sponsor 

and have had not discipline on the license for the past 5 years. I understand that I may only sponsor one trainee at a time.  

 

I further swear that I will diligently familiarize and teach the above named applicant the art of embalming, restoration, 

family contact, funeral arrangement, funeral direction, and will familiarize and train them in the laws of the State of South 

Dakota and the Rules and Regulations of the South Dakota State Board of Funeral Service, and train them in all phases of 

service to families in need of funeral service and especially to coach the applicant in ethical relationships with clientele and 

funeral service professionals. 

I will abide by ARSD 20:45:03:02 and 20:45:03:02.03 including but not limited to, notifying the board in writing within 

10 days if I terminate the traineeship. Further, I understand that activities being completed for credit towards an 

accredited mortuary science or funeral service program may not be used to satisfy the trainee requirements. I 

understand that failure to comply with any of the requirements in these sections is grounds for licensure action pursuant 

to SDCL 36-19-38. I understand that I am responsible for the trainee’s actions and work in funeral service.  

 

 

MUST BE SIGNED IN 

PRESENCE OF NOTARY 

Sponsor Signature Date of Signature 

 Subscribed and Sworn Before Me, this 

day of year 

Notary Public 

Embossed Seal or 

Rubber Stamp 
Notary Public Signature My Commission 

Expires 

Notary Public Name (Type or Printed) 

 

*Note to Applicant 

When completed, enclose with a check of $25.00 and mail to the South Dakota State Board of Funeral Service.  

South Dakota Board of Funeral Service 

810 North Main #298 

Spearfish, SD 57783 

 

 


