National Incident Management System Training

The National Incident Management System or NIMS was developed by the Secretary of Homeland Security at the request of the President under Presidential Directive/HSPD-5. The purpose of NIMS is to enable all levels of responders to work together to manage domestic incidents; some of the benefits of NIMS will be:

  • Standardized organizational structures, processes, and procedures;
  • Standards for planning, training, and exercising and personnel qualification standards;
  • Equipment acquisition and certification standards;
  • Interoperable communications processes, procedures, and systems;
  • information management systems; and
  • Supporting technologies-voice and data communications systems, information systems, data display systems, and specialized technologies.

The EMS Program will allow the following hours for recertification, following National Registry’s guidelines, for initial NIMS Courses (must have course completion certificates) (ICS-100, ICS-200, and IS-700):

  • (EMT) 0.5 hours for Trauma Triage
  • (EMT) 1.5 hours for Special Healthcare Needs
  • (EMR) 0.25 hours for Infectious Diseases
  • (EMT) 0.5 hours Infectious Diseases
  • (EMR & EMT) 0.5 hours for Toxicological/Opioids
  • (EMT) 0.5 hours for At-Risk Populations
  • (EMT) 0.5 hours for Ambulance Safety
  • (EMR & EMT) 0.5 hours for Field Triage
  • (EMR) 0.25 hours for EMS Provider Hygiene/Safety/Vaccinations
  • (EMT) 0.5 hours for EMS Provider Hygiene/Safety/Vaccinations
  • (EMR) 0.25 hours for EMS Culture of Safety
  • (EMT) 0.5 hours for EMS Culture of Safety
  • (EMT) 1 hour for Crew Resource Management

South Dakota requires all EMS provider levels to comply with NIMS ICS-100, ICS-200, and IS-700 fully.

Access online training

Once you have accessed training, go to NETC Virtual Campus to start the courses.