Melissa Magstadt, South Dakota Secretary of Health

Food Service Licensing

Step 1 — Complete the Food Service Licensing Packet

Download the following materials or call the Office of Health Protection at 605-773-4945 to request the packet:

NOTE: If you need a food service license for a temporary event, use the Temporary Food Services Application and refer to Food Safety at Temporary Events.

Step 2 — Meet Requirements

  1. South Dakota Codified Law 34-18-23 requires establishments to notify the department of any construction or alteration projects.

    • 30 days before construction starts, submit a detailed floor plan of the food service kitchen to the Office of Health Protection. Layout plans must be stamped by a professional engineer or architect for facilities larger than 4,000 square feet.

    • Submit completed Plan Review Questionnaire and floor plan to:
      SD Department of Health - Office of Health Protection - 600 E. Capitol - Pierre, SD - 57501-2536

  2. If the establishment uses private sewer or water systems, they must be approved by the South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, 605-773-3351.

  3. Complete, notarize, and submit the license/ registration application with the correct fee 30 days before completion of construction to:
    SD Department of Health - Office of Health Protection - 600 E. Capitol - Pierre, SD - 57501-2536

  4. ARSD 44:02:07:03 requires food service establishments to have a certified food service manager. | scheduled Certified Food Service Manager courses

Step 3 — Department of Health Review

  1. Department staff review the layout plan and plan review questionnaire.

  2. Department sends a written notification regarding approval or changes required.

  3. Department approves plan- once all areas of plan comply with ARSD 44:02:07 (Food Service Code).

Questions? Contact a Health Protection Advisor in your region.

Step 4 — State Inspection

During the construction process and before the business opening, the department conducts an onsite inspection to determine compliance with administrative rules.

Step 5 — Approval for Licensing

The department issues a food service license once the license application is made, plan review is completed, the final inspection is made, and the Certified Food Service course is completed.

Additional Information Links

Governor's Office of Economic Development, Business Start-Up information
South Dakota Plumbing Commission
South Dakota Electrical Commission
South Dakota Department of Revenue
Scheduled Certified Food Service Manager Courses

Share via: