Melissa Magstadt, South Dakota Secretary of Health

Campground Licensure

Step 1 — Complete Campground Licensing Packet

Download the following materials or call the Office of Health Protection at 605-773-4945 to request a packet.

Step 2 — Meet Requirements

  1. South Dakota Codified Law 34-18-23 requires campgrounds to notify the department of construction and alteration projects.

    • 30 days before construction starts, submit a scaled drawing of the campground to the Office of Health Protection (recommended scale 1/8 " = 1 foot).

    • Complete plan review questionnaire and submit with the plan to:
      SD Department of Health - Office of Health Protection - 600 E. Capitol - Pierre, SD - 57501-2536

  2. If the establishment uses private sewer or water systems, they must be approved by the South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, 605-773-3351.

  3. Complete, notarize, and submit application with correct fee 30 days before completion of construction to:
    SD Department of Health - Office of Health Protection - 600 E. Capitol - Pierre, SD - 57501-2536

Step 3 — Department of Health Review

  1. Department reviews layout plan and plan review questionnaire.

  2. Department sends a written notification regarding approval or changes required.

  3. Department approves campground plan once it complies with ARSD 44:02:14.

Questions? Contact a Health Protection Advisor in your region.

Step 4 — State Inspection

During construction and before the business opens, the department conducts an onsite inspection to determine compliance with administrative rules.

Step 5 — Approval for Licensing

The department issues a campground license once the application is processed, plan review is completed, and final inspection determines compliance.

Additional Information Links

Governor's Office of Economic Development, Business Start-Up information
South Dakota Plumbing Commission
South Dakota Electrical Commission
South Dakota Department of Revenue

Share via: