6th Grade Vaccination Requirements
South Dakota Department of Health administrative rules require both the Tdap (Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis) and MCV4 (Meningococcal ACYW) vaccines for 6th grade students. The requirement is a result of legislation passed in 2016 adding meningococcal infection to the list of diseases specified in South Dakota Codified Law 13-28-7.1 for which DOH can require vaccination for school entry in South Dakota.
School entry requirements for South Dakota 6th grade students include:
One dose of Tdap vaccine (tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis)
- One dose of MCV4 vaccine (meningococcal ACYW)
- The requirements apply only for 6th grade entry and transfer students 6th–12th grade
- If a child is 10 years old when entering the 6th grade they have 45 days after their 11th birthday to be vaccinated
The DOH utilizes the recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to determine which vaccines are necessary. See http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/who/teens/downloads/parent-version-schedule-7-18yrs.pdf.
While only Tdap and MCV4 are required for middle school entry, parents are encouraged to talk with their provider about immunizing their child with other recommended vaccines. Additionally the ACIP also recommends that adolescents receive a second dose of MCV4 at age 16. Check this schedule from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for a complete listing of recommended immunizations.
Contact the South Dakota Department of Health, Immunization Program, at 1-800-592-1861 (in SD only), or email with your questions.