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‘U)e&:ame to another edition of the Partnership News & Best Practice

newsletter. Our office continues to reach out to our healthcare providers and

partners to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of our residents and patients. b ’”d"!'"d'
providers/
licensure/
Thank you for your comments and suggestions for articles to include in this

Newsletter. We encourage and welcome your feedback.

If you have questions or suggestions for topics, please email chris.qualm@state.sd.us.
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Health care facilities in South Dakota are required
to report incidents or events which results in a
negative outcome for residents and patients. A
review of the reporting requirements for your
facility type is critical to ensuring the health and
safety of all residents and patients.

The South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH)
require facilities to notify the department of any
incident or event where there is a reasonable
cause to suspect abuse or neglect by residents,
patients, or any person. When an injury of un-
known source or an allegation of a reasonable
suspicion of a crime has been reported or discov-
ered take immediate and necessary actions to
provide appropriate medical care and appropriate
interventions for the resident(s) and patient(s).

As defined in section 2011 of the Affordable Care
Act, facilities that receive at least $10,000 of Fed-
eral funds annually and meet the definition of
long-term care facility include the following: nurs-
ing facilities (NFs), skilled nursing facilities (SNFs),
hospice programs operating in SNF/NFs, and in-
termediate care facilities and individuals with in-
tellectual disability (ICF/1ID). A reasonable suspi-
cion of a crime with serious bodily injury is de-
fined “as an injury involving extreme physical
pain; involving substantial risk of death; involving
protracted loss or impairment of the function of a
bodily member, organ, or mental faculty; or re-
quiring medical intervention such as surgery, hos-
pitalization, or physical rehabilitation.”’ These
facilities must report events of reasonable suspi-
cion of a crime with serious bodily injury within
the reporting requirement time frames:

A. If the event results in serious bodily injury, it
should be reported immediately but no later
than two hours after forming the suspicion.

B. If the event does not result in serious bodily
injury, it should be reported within 24 hours.

Mandatory Reporting Requirements for Medical Facilities

The mandatory reports of incidents or events
should be submitted online using the Launchpad
reporting software. The responsibility of the facili-
tyis:

1. To submit an initial written report within the
specific timeframe documented in the South
Dakota Administrative Rules for the provider

type.

2. To conduct an internal investigation focusing
on the “problem” and answering the who,
what, when, where, how, and why.

3. To submit a final written report of the investi-
gation results within five working days after
the event.

Additional mandatory reporting requirements for
medical facilities include:

® Any deaths resulting from other than natural
causes (i.e., accidents, suicides) originating on
facility property.

® Missing patients.
® Resident-to-Resident altercations.
® Falls that involve injury of a serious nature.

® Report as soon as possible any fire with dam-
age or where injury or death occurs; any par-
tial or complete evacuation of the facility
resulting from natural disaster; or any loss of
utilities, such as electricity, natural gas, tele-
phone, emergency generator, fire alarms,
sprinklers, and other critical equipment nec-
essary for operation of the facility for more
than 24 hours.

Reporting incidents of abuse or neglect may leave
room for uncertainty and confusion. The following
guidelines may be helpful in determining what is
reportable and what is not:



Mandatory Reporting Requirements for Medical Facilities (continued)

® [faninjury occurred and required emergency treatment beyond what was provided in the nursing facility,
ALC, ASC, or hospital or was hospitalized because of the injury. Conduct a thorough investigation and report.

e |f through resident, patient, and staff interviews and recreating the occurrence with a thorough investigation
with those involved as best as possible how the resident or patient was discovered, and abuse or negligence

cannot be ruled out, report.

® |f through resident or patient interview and recreating the occurrence with those involved, abuse or negli-
gence can be substantiated, report.

If the resident or patient can communicate to the provider what occurred and after conducting a thorough inves-
tigation, abuse and/or neglect can be ruled out, do not report.

Health care facilities please refer to both the state and federal rules for reporting requirements.

This table shows the provider type, the statue rule on reports, and the specific time frames for reporting allegations of abuse/
neglect, death other than natural causes, and missing resident.

If you have any questions or if you have not been set-up in Launchpad to complete and/or submit reports, please
contact Shelly Walstead at 605-367-4640 or Jolene Hanson at 605-367-7499 or email DOHOLCCom-
plaint@state.sd.us.

https://doh.sd.gov/providers/licensure/

complaints.aspx
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Home Health Agency
Q&A

This question was submitted to SD
DOH - Can the HH or Hospice RN
transport medications for a patient
(with patient approval, pick up the
medications from the pharmacy and
take to the patient home) who can't

easily obtain them on their own?

CMS Central Office Response regard-
ing this provider’s question was -
"There is nothing in the conditions of
participation that prohibit HHA or
hospice RNs from picking medica-
tions up from a pharmacy and trans-
porting them to a patient’s home
when the patient/caregiver has given
their permission to the provider. The
hospice and HHA should have estab-
lished policies and procedures that
specify how and when RNs provide
this service; it would not be consid-
ered as a noncompliant practice that

results in a deficiency."

The department recommends to the
provider's while developing or mak-
ing revisions to your policy and pro-
cedures to consider best practice and
include in your process ways to pre-

vent drug diversion.

Mandatory Reporting Requirements
for Medical Facilities (continued)

Other Resources:

TAffordable Care Act “Reporting to Law Enforcement of Crimes Occurring in
Federally Funded Long-term Care Facilities” https://www.cms.gov/
Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/
SurveyCertificationGenlInfo/downloads/SCLetterl1l 30.pdf

SDDOH Office of Licensure and Certification - Complaints https://
doh.sd.gov/providers/licensure/complaints.aspx

Reporting of Injuries of Unknown Source and Reasonable Suspicion of a
Crime https://doh.sd.gov/documents/Providers/Licensure/Reporting.pdf

Power point presentation on Reporting Process for Long Term Care Facilities
in South Dakota https://doh.sd.gov/documents/Providers/Licensure/
ReportingProcessLTC.pdf

Power point presentation on Reporting Process for Hospitals/Critical Access
Hospitals/Ambulatory Surgery Center Facilities in South Dakota https://
doh.sd.gov/documents/Providers/Licensure/ReportingProcessHosp.pdf

Power point presentation on Reporting Process for Assisted Living Centers/
Adult Foster Care/Inpatient Hospice/Residential Hospice in South Dakota
https://doh.sd.gov/documents/Providers/Licensure/

ReportingProcessALC.pdf

Fall Reporting Requirements https://doh.sd.gov/documents/Providers/
Licensure/FallReportingRequirements.pdf

Special points of interest:

e  Nursing Home Compare: http://www.medicare.gov/nursinghomecompare/?

AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1

e  Hospital Compare: https://www.medicare.qgov/hospitalcompare/search.html

e CMS Memos:

e  Home Health Compare: https://www.medicare.qgov/homehealthcompare/search.html

e  http://www.cms.qgov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGeninfo/Policy-

and-Memos-to-States-and-Regions.html

e Licensure and Certification website: https://doh.sd.qov/providers/licensure/
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Discharge Planning: How Prepared are Your Patient’s?

Depending on which statistic you read, approximately 20% of hospitalized patients are discharged to a post-
acute care setting. The South Dakota Department of Health, over the past year, has seen an upward trend in
patient complaints related to discharge planning.

South Dakota Article 44:75 Hospital, Specialized Hospital, and Critical Access Hospital Facilities requires a fa-
cility to have policies and procedures for discharge planning. The policies and procedures must include the
person responsible, members of the discharge team, a list of all agencies and resources, and a description of
the discharge process.

Within 24-hours after a patient’s admission, the hospital is responsible for determining each patient’s poten-
tial for post-acute care. The facility’s responsibility extends to planning with appropriate agencies to meet the
patient’s identified needs and aid patients in making needed services available. To ensure continuity and co-
ordination of care, healthcare providers are obligated by regulation to make necessary information available
to the receiving facility or referral agency.

According to the Institute for Healthcare Improvement creating a seamless transition and a reduction in re-
hospitalizations healthcare providers should:

e  Perform an enhanced assessment of post-hospital needs.

e Provide effective teaching and facilitate enhanced learning.
e  Ensure post-hospital care follow-up is conducted.

e  Provide real-time handover communication.

Communication and understanding of discharge expectations between all stakeholders will ensure the best
possible outcome at the time of the patient’s discharge. As a member of your facility’s discharge process ask
several questions:

Are we putting the patient’s needs front and center? Yes, payer sources are part of the discharge equation,
however patient recovery and safety should be the driving force.

Upon admission are we anticipating the patient’s length of stay to get ahead of discharge needs? Patient
stays can be 48-hours or less making discharge planning even more critical. For patients with short stays, ear-
ly involvement in discharge planning by the patient and family can improve their acceptance of the discharge
plan.

How much assistance is provided to patient when they are selecting a post-acute facility or referral agency?
From personal experience, the provision of a list of agencies to the patient and family is not enough. Assist
the patient and their family in selecting the appropriate post-acute care provider or referral agency based on
the patient’s priorities and needs.

Regardless if discharges are simple or complex ensure guided and frank discussions on the advantages and
disadvantages related to the patient’s choices, priorities, and needs are conducted to achieve optimal out-
comes after discharge. Effective communication with all involved will make the discharge process less
daunting for everyone.

References:

1.Cheney, Christopher. (11/21/18). Is your hospital discharge planning failing patients? HealthLeaders

2.Institute for Healthcare Improvement (n.d.). Improving Transitions from the Hospital to Post-Acute Care Settings to Reduce Avoidable
Rehospitalizations



Registered Sex Offenders in Long-Term Care (LTC)

As the population continues to age and as acuity
levels increase, individuals with criminal or correc-
tional histories that include registered sex offend-
ers will need care and services in LTC facilities.
Aging inmates or ex-cons often have had hard
lives, having faced issues such as substance abuse,
and/or mental illness, trauma, homelessness, and
poverty; experiencing after effects from heart
disease, diabetes, tobacco use, substance abuse,
strokes, and cognitive decline.

Federal law requires that law enforcement in the
50 states enact sex offender registries and notifi-
cation laws to receive funding for law enforce-
ment. All persons convicted of serious sex crimes,
including federal, military, out-of-state convic-
tions, and certain adjudicated juveniles, must reg-
ister if residing in South Dakota.

Federal statutes and regulations governing the
operation of LTC facilities do not address the issue
of registered sex offenders residing in LTC facili-
ties. Federal guidance has established that nursing
homes should not accept any individual where the
nursing home determines that it cannot appropri-
ately meet the individual’s needs and simultane-
ously protect the health, safety, and rights of oth-
er individuals (other residents, staff, and visitors).

Under federal and state regulations, nursing
homes are required to develop an admission poli-
cy and procedure that does not unlawfully dis-
criminate against applicants and provides discre-
tion on making admission decisions by not requir-
ing nursing homes to admit every applicant. The
decision to admit or not to admit must be based
on several factors, including whether the provider
can meet the needs of the individual and whether
they can ensure the protection of other residents,
staff, and visitors.

Suggestions to consider when faced with the deci-
sion to admit or not admit a registered sex offend-
er, or challenges faced when made aware of a
registered sex offender’s status after admission

include:

e Have an admission policy and be consistent
with implementation — Example: Do not deny
admission to male registered sex offenders
but admit female registered sex offenders.

e Have your legal counsel and governing board
involved in policy development.

e Do involve the local ombudsman.

e Registered sex offender status is not a pro-
tected class under federal and state regula-
tions. The sex offender registration infor-
mation is public information.

e Balance potentially competing goals of safe-
guarding protected health information, and
informing staff, residents, and visitors of sex
offender registration status of the individual
resident.

e  Maintain registered sex offender information
separate and apart from the main medical
file. With electronic record keeping, limit the
field to need to know.

e Do include how and with whom history will
be shared. If the individual will be maintained
in one area and not interact with other areas
of care; consider the logistics of the facility,
does the entire facility staff and residents
require notification?

e  Determine any risk to the community — Think
beyond the other residents, also consider
visitors such as children and staff who may
have fit the “victim” descriptor.

e  Weigh the pros and cons — weighing things
such as level of offense, years since an
offense was committed, nature of offense,
any rehabilitation that the offender received,
and of course the current medical condition

(s).

e  Familiarity with the laws governing registered



sex offenders.

e  As part of the working care plan, devise a safety
plan—

e May not be possible to place them in a semi-
private room.

e  May require more frequent checks or staff ex-
pectations for how care is provided.

e  May require placing them closer to the nurse’s
station, away from hallway rooms on corner or
alcove — “blind spots.”

e Proactive communication — social services and/
or DON interaction with individual on regular
basis.

e  Establish clear expectations for staff to share
any identified concerns or inappropriate
tendencies.

e Communication with those including other resi-
dents with whom the individual may encounter
on a regular basis.

e Keep in mind the LTCisn’t a prison and is still
the least restrictive setting.

In South Dakota, a “community safety zone” is de-
fined as the area that lies within five hundred feet
from facilities and grounds of any school, public
park, public playground, or public pool, including the
facilities and grounds itself.

While many LTC facilities are located within proximi-
ty to schools, parks, and playgrounds a registered
sex offender may be placed for residency per SDCL
§22-24B-23. Restrictions on residence within com-
munity safety zone-- Violation as felony. No person
who is required to register as a sex offender pursu-
ant to this chapter may establish a residence or re-
side within a community safety zone unless: (4) The
person is placed in a health care facility licensed
pursuant to chapter 34-12 or certified under Title
XVIII or XIX of the Social Security Act as amended to
December 31, 2001 or receiving services from a
community service provider accredited or certified

Registered Sex Offenders in Long-Term Care (LTC) (continued)

by the Department of Human Services or the De-
partment of Social Services, which is located within
a community safety zone.

You may review the entire list of allowances:

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified Laws/
DisplayStatute.aspx?Type-Statute&Statute=22-
24B-23

A sex offender must complete an initial sex offend-
er registration within three (3) business days of
coming into any county to reside, temporarily
domicile, attend school, classes or to work.

e The registration shall be with the chief of po-
lice, or if no chief of police exists, the sheriff of
the county.

e Offenders must register every six (6) months.
They are first required to register during their
birth month and then required to register six
(6) months after their birth month.

e Asex offender is required to complete a verifi-
cation form sent out by the Division of Crimi-
nal Investigation (DCl) at least annually and
return the form to the DCI within ten (10) cal-
endar days of receipt of the form.

e Any change of residence or location requires
the sex offender to submit, within three (3)
business days of the move, a Registration Up-
date form to the law enforcement agency
where the offender last registered.

This is a summary only about the registered sex
offender in the LTC.

Not to detract from the seriousness involved in the
consideration of admitting or not admitting a regis-
tered sex offender perspective should be main-
tained. Residents with cognitive impairment or
suffering from other behavior disorders or mental
conditions may be more dangerous to the resi-
dents of a long-term care community. The long
term-care provider must be ever vigilant.
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Emergency Preparedness

Need help with you Emergency Preparedness planning? Need to know how to connect with a HealthCare
Coalition in SD?
Go to http://doh.sd.gov/providers/preparedness/hospital-preparedness/system/

The South Dakota Hospital Preparedness Program (HPP) works with hospitals and other medical facilities to
ensure South Dakota's medical community is as prepared as we can be! For additional information about HPP,
go to http://doh.sd.gov/providers/Preparedness/Hospital-Preparedness/ or contact the HPP at 605.773.4412.

Use this link to find your local Emergency Manager: https://dps.sd.gov/emergency-services/emergency-
management

CMS Emergency Preparedness Site:
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertEmergPrep/index.html

The Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) Technical Resources Assistance Center and
Information Exchange (TRACIE) is a resource for developing emergency plans and can be found at
https://www.asprtracie.hhs.gov

There are no shortcuts to safer opioids prescribing

In a new commentary in the New England Journal of Medicine, authors of the 2016 Centers for Disease Control
(CDC) Guideline for Prescribing Opioids for Chronic Pain - Opens in a new window advise against misapplication
that can put patients’ health and safety at risk. Some policies and practices attributed to the guideline are incon-
sistent with its recommendations.

The CDC has resources to help you correctly apply the guideline:

Pocket Guide: Tapering Opioids for Chronic Pain - Opens in a new window : Quick-reference tool for when and
how to taper and important considerations for safe and effective care; https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/pdf/
Clinical Pocket Guide Tapering-a.pdf and

CDC Opioid Prescribing Guideline Mobile App - Opens in a new window : Apply the recommendations in clinical
practice, including a morphine milligram equivalent calculator, key recommendations, motivational interviewing
techniques, resources, and glossary; https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/prescribing/app.html and

» Applying CDC’s Guideline for Prescribing Opioids Series - Opens in a new window : Interactive, web-based train-
ing featuring 11 self-paced learning modules with case-based content, knowledge checks, and integrated re-
sources; https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/training/online-training.html

Avoid Opioid
https://www.avoidopioidsd.com
South Dakota Opioid Resource Hotline 1.800.920.4343
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