Certificates & Records
This office within the Division of Administration maintains birth, death, marriage, and divorce records for the state and issues certified copies of such records.
South Dakota vital records filed after 1905 are available. Many birth records for events occurring before 1905 were filed later and are in the system. For births older than 100 years, visit our searchable database. The 100-year-old birth records sites has been named to Family Tree Magazine’s list of Best State Websites for Genealogy for 2015.
Click on the menu to the left for information on specific certificates and records.
|NOTE: By state law, vital records filed in the state of South Dakota are not open for public inspection. The South Dakota Vital Records Office in the Department of Health can issue either an informational or a certified copy of a vital record. Applicants must meet eligibility requirements to obtain certified copies.|
New Jersey Seeks To Locate Birth Parents who Gave Up Children for Adoption as Early as the 1920s
The Office of Vital Records in the New Jersey Department of Health is attempting to reach tens of thousands of birth parents who gave up their children for adoption in New Jersey as far back as the 1920s. These birth parents could live anywhere in the U.S. Under a new law, beginning on August 3, 2015, birth parents will have until Dec. 31, 2016 to notify the New Jersey Department of Health if they want to have information redacted from the birth certificate of the child they gave up for adoption. Birth parents that choose to maintain their privacy by having identifying information redacted must submit this request by December 31, 2016 to ensure their privacy will be maintained. Beginning January 1, 2017, adult adoptees and their relatives will be able to obtain an uncertified copy of their birth certificate.