Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secretary of Health

Emergency Medical Services

REMINDER: ALS Providers (Paramedic, AEMT, Intermediate 85 and Intermediate 99) - The Office of Rural Health / Emergency Medical Services no longer certifies Advanced Level Providers, and no longer accepts recertification material from ALS Providers. Because ALS Providers are no longer certified by the ORH/EMS, they must be licensed by the South Dakota Board of Medical & Osteopathic Examiners (SDBMOE) to LEGALLY practice in South Dakota. For all ALS Re-Licensing & Licensing questions, please contact the South Dakota Board of Medical & Osteopathic Examiners, Please do not contact the State EMS Office.  Thank you.


NEWS: EMS Stakeholders Group meetings underway


In South Dakota, there are 123 ground and 5 air ambulance services.  South Dakota recognizes five levels of Emergency Medical Technicians:

  1. EMT
  2. EMT-Intermediate/85
  3. AEMT
  4. EMT-Intermediate/99
  5. Paramedic

National Registry certification is required for entry into the state EMS System, with the option of national or state recertification.  All Advanced Life Support providers are required to be licensed through the South Dakota Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners.

South Dakota Office of EMS now has online recertification for EMT's only as well as initial course student registration at the EMT level.                                           

Online EMT Recertification -  For EMT's only, use this link to recertify online. You can also update your profile.

Online EMT Course Initial Registration - This replaces the bubble forms used at course openings. Typically, bubble forms were used to register students within SDOEMS system during a course opening.  Now, using this link, it can be done online.



Share via: