

SD EMR Continuing Education for Recertification Information Booklet

8 Hours following National Registry's National Component Requirements plus CPR/AED Certification



Updated January 1, 2021

EMS Program 600 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, South Dakota Office: (605) 773-4031

EMS.sd.gov

NOTE:

Recertification is done online via the EMS Program's E-Licensing website

This booklet is for your reference only.

In the evet you are audited, you will need to provide the EMS Program proof of all the continuing education you claimed during your recertification cycle.

Dear SD Emergency Medical Responder,

Over the next two years, you will have the opportunity to increase your knowledge and skills through evidence based continuing education. South Dakota EMRs have several resources to choose from to obtain the eight (8) CE hours needed for recertification. In order to better serve you, the EMS Program will continue to provide and approve the following CE resources as they meet current requirements:

- All internet hours approved through www.cecbems.org are approved through the State EMS Program for CE credit. You may use any online company providing EMS education/continuing education as long as it is accredited or approved by the EMS Program. Due to COVID-19, all 8 hours can be obtained via online (distributive) education for State recertification until further notice. CPR Healthcare Provider/AED Certification is in addition to the 8 hours we require and cannot count towards the 8 hours of specific topic training requirements.
- Instructors may apply to receive state approved CE credit for classes they are instructing which may count for EMR recertification.
- EMRs will be allowed to submit their recertification materials online to our office for approval as early as July 1st in the year of their expiration.
 - Online EMR Recertification is done by logging into your <u>E-Licensing</u> account, then clicking on "Applications" and selecting "SDEMS Application" and follow the instructions. You can also update your personal information, record your training hours, etc. throughout the year.
- State approved refresher courses & other trainings will be searchable on our E-Licensing website
 or can be accessed via the EMS Program's website at EMS.sd.gov. We will publish all approved
 courses including BTLS, PHTLS, AMLS, PEPP, PALS, and ACLS that we are notified of. This is a
 valuable tool for those wishing to further their education and professional growth as an EMS provider.
- Step-by-Step instruction sheets and videos can be found by clicking <u>here</u>. Please review these
 instructions as they will guide you step-by step through the different sections of the new License
 Management System.
- Please ensure all training meets the new standards/requirements.

Recertification Guidelines for Emergency Medical Responders

This document is designed to assist the EMR to understand and complete the biennial (two-year) recertification requirements. Each EMR is responsible for completing and submitting the required recertification materials to the Emergency Medical Service Program prior to expiration. It is your responsibility as an EMR to notify the EMS Program of any change in name, address, affiliation, or felony conviction(s).

The expiration date on your South Dakota EMR certification card is your official expiration date. Recertification materials must be electronically submitted to the EMS Program no later than the September 31st expiration date. Your recertification application can be submitted to the EMS Program as early as July 1st in the year of your expiration via our E-Licensing website. (The date your recertification application is processed will be the date you can begin to obtain recertification hours for your next recertification cycle.)

An EMR is required to be certified to act as an EMR on a SD licensed ambulance service. To avoid a lapse in your certification, all materials should be received by our office no later than September 15th of the recertification year. If a lapse in your state EMR certification occurs (at 12:01 am October 1st), you are no longer legally certified, and you will not act as an EMR on a SD ambulance service.

<u>Important</u>: If you are a National Registered EMR, your National Registry certification <u>does not</u> automatically renew your SD EMR certification. You must recertify with the State EMS Program online

Recertification Requirements

Continuing education hours are to be earned and used within the same biennial (two-year) recertification period

CPR certification is required of every state certified EMR. CPR certification must include all the following skills:

- CPR Healthcare Provider/AED
 - o Adult 1 and 2 rescuer CPR,
 - o Adult obstructed airway,
 - o Child 1 and 2 rescuer CPR,
 - o Child obstructed airway,
 - o Infant CPR, and
 - o Infant obstructed airway.

Verifications

The continuing education hours must be verified by either the class coordinator, instructor, training officer, Medical Director, or by a course completion certificate.

Continuing Education Guidelines

A continuing education hour is based on 50 minutes of participation. The education program should be organized around the training and responsibilities of the EMR and designed to meet the following specific objectives:

- A. Enhance the Emergency Medical Responder's understanding of clinical and operational roles and responsibilities,
- B. Enhance skills in patient assessment and in all emergency treatment procedures within the scope of the Emergency Medical Responder,
- C. Enhance skills in the use and maintenance of all emergency medical care equipment, and
- D. Provide opportunities for discussion, skills practice, and critiques.

Mandatory Topic Requirements & Hours Required For Each Section

(8 Hours Total plus CPR/AED Certification)

AIRWAY, RESPIRATIONS & VENTILATION – 1

AMWIN, RESIDENCE OF VERNIER ISSUED	
CARDIOVASCULAR – 2.5 HOURS	
,	TRAUMA – 0.5
MEDICAL – 3 HOURS	
OPERATIONS – 1 HOURS	
PLUS	
CPR HEALTHCARE	
. 0	Adult 1 and 2 rescuer CPR, Adult obstructed airway, Child 1 and 2 rescuer CPR, Child obstructed airway, Infant CPR, and Infant obstructed airway.
Note – The South Dakota EMS Program does not accept the following resources as continuing education hours: • Home Study Programs • Performance of Duty • Volunteering with EMS Agencies • Clinical Observation	