South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy
1601 N Harrison Ave Ste 6 e Pierre SD 57501
Phone: 605-295-8590

E-mail: kate.boyd@state.sd.us website: doh.sd.gov/boards/Massage/

APPLICATION TO REACTIVATE LICENSE

Please submit the following with the completed application:
1. Please include a personal check, cashier’s check, certified check or money

order made payable to the State of South Dakota for the applicable amount Attach Photo Here
a. Reactivation fee of $65 (refundable if application is denied). For identification purposes,
2. Copy of applicant’s birth certificate or driver’s license. the applicant shall furnish one
3. Copy of applicant’s social security card. color headshot taken not more
4. Verification of any name change by applicant (marriage, divorce, etc.) than six months before the
5. Quality color photograph of applicant. date of application.
6. Copy of Malpractice or Professional Liability Insurance of at least $250,000 000

per occurrence (See Section 7. Proof of liability insurance)
7. Proof of at least 8 hours of continuing education within the last two years

Any application will expire if pending for 12 months and the licensing fee will be forfeited.

1. APPLICANT INFORMATION

License Number:

Full Name:

First middle last

List any name(s) by which you have been known in the past including nicknames, maiden name etc. (first, middle, last)

3 | have been known by no other names If necessary provide additional names on a separate sheet
Maiden Name O N/A
Address
City ‘ State Zip
Cell Phone [ None | Home Phone [J None
Date of Birth Social Security Number

2. MILITARY STATUS

Are you or your spouse an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States 0 Yes [ No

If Yes, were you or your spouse the subject of a military transfer to South Dakota? 0 Yes [ No

If Yes, are you or your spouse on full-time active duty status stationed in South Dakota [ Yes [ No

If all answers are Yes, please provide a copy of the transfer orders.

If all answers are Yes, you are not required to pay the reactivation fee.

3. COMMUNICATION

The Board uses e-mail to communicate with licensees

E-mail

Do you prefer to receive your license mailed from the Board at your: [ Home [ Primary Business

Would you like to receive mailings about continuing education opportunities from third parties? [ Yes I No
For Office Use Only: Date Received: By

Page 1 of 5 BMT Reactivate License Application Revised 02/12/2024


mailto:kate.boyd@state.sd.us
http://sd.gov/governor/default.aspx

Name:

4. EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Do you have a place of business where you perform massage? [ Yes [ No

Name of Business \ Phone

Physical Address

Mailing Address O Same as above
City | state | Zip

If you have another place of business where you perform massage, please provide additional contact information on a
separate sheet.

5. EDUCATION
Have you completed specific training in the practice of massage therapy? [ Yes [ No
Name of Facility(s) where completed:
City ‘ State ‘ Date of Completion

Name of Facility(s) where completed:

City ‘ State ‘ Date of Completion

If you have attended another facility, please provide additional information on a separate sheet.

6. PROOF OF MALPRACTICE OR PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE

Please attach verification of your insurance coverage Certificate of Insurance or Policy Declaration Page

Malpractice of professional liability insurance coverage of at least $250,000 per occurrence is required by law (SDCL
36-35-21) for your licensure. The applicant must be a named insured of the coverage

If your insurance coverage expires during the term of your massage license, you are required by law to renew it.

8. LEGAL QUESTIONS

(if you answer YES to any question, please provide a written explanation)

Have you been convicted of or pled guilty to a felony, any crime involving or relating to the practice of massage, or

any crime involving dishonesty or moral turpitude? I YES CINO
Have you been disciplined with a reprimand, censure, suspension, temporary suspension, probation, revocation, or
refusal to renew a professional license in any state? [ YES [CINO

Are you $1,000 or more behind in child support payments? O vyes OO NO

9. OTHER LICENSES

Have you ever held a license to practice massage therapy in another state or the District of Columbia? [ YES [ NO

List all massage therapy licenses you have ever held (active, inactive, lapsed, etc.). Do not include South Dakota.

State or Jurisdictions License Number Date of Licensure Expiration Date

If you have additional licenses, please provide information on a separate sheet
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Name:

10. ASSOCIATIONS

Are you a member of a state massage therapy association I YES [ NO

Are you a member of a national massage therapy association O YES O NO

If yes, which association? [ ABMP [ AMTA 0 NAMT [ Other (please list)

11. STATISTICAL INFORMATION

These questions are asked for statistical purposes. Your answers are optional.

Do you practice massage therapy 3 Full Time [ Part Time [ Do Not Practice
What is your gender? [ Female O Male
What is your race? Please check all that apply.

] Asian

1 American Indian or Alaska Native

] Black or African American

[ Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander

(] Hispanic or Latino

[ White or Caucasian

] Other
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Name:

12. CONTINUING EDUCATION VERIFICATION

Please attach verification of each course listed. You must also maintain a copy of the verification for your records
for 5 years after the date of this licensure.

The South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy requires that each licensed massage therapist accumulate at least 8
hours of continuing education every two years (SDCL 36-35-19). Accepted continuing education is any course with
a clear purpose and objective which maintains, improves, or expands the skills and knowledge relevant to massage
therapy of the human body. Qualifying continuing education must meet the definition of massage therapy pursuant
to § 36-35-1(3) or be education presented by an approved provider of the National Certification Board for
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, American Medical Massage Association, or Federation of State Massage
Therapy Boards.

See the course category policy identifying acceptable courses. The course category policy is located in Board
Policies and Positions, pages 3 — 5, located on the home page of the website. https://doh.sd.gov/boards/massage/

Any or all of the required 8 hours of continuing education may be obtained electronically (online or by other
electronic means).

Please list each continuing education program you are claiming in the spaces provide below.

Include a copy of the certificate of completion for all educational activities listed.

Start End Title of Educational Activity NCBTMB Hours
Date Date Provider Number Earned
(if applicable)
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| Name:

BY MY SIGNATURE BELOW, | VERIFY, UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY, THAT | AM THE LICENSEE
COMPLETING THIS APPLICATION AND THAT ALL INFORMATION SUBMITTED IS TRUE AND CORRECT TO
THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE. | FURTHER UNDERSTAND THAT FALSE OR INCORRECT INFORMATION,
OMMISSIONS, INACCURACIES OR FAILURES TO MAKE FULL DISCLOSURE MAY RESULT IN THE
CANCELLATION OR DENIAL OF A LICENSE ISSUED PURSUANT TO THIS APPLICATION AND MAY BE
SUBJECT TO CIVIL AND CRIMINAL PROCEEDINGS. | AGREE ALL INFORMATION IN THIS APPLICATION CAN
BE VERIFIED AND INVESTIGATED. | HAVE READ, AND AM FAMILIAR WITH THE SOUTH DAKOTA CODIFIED
LAWS AND ADMINISTARTIVE RULES REGULATING MASSAGE THERAPY AND HEREBY AGREE TO ABIDE BY
SUCH LAWS AND REGULATIONS.

To be signed in the presence of a Notary Public

Signature of Applicant Date
State of )
)SS
County of )
On this day of , 20 , the above applicant personally

appeared, known to me or satisfactorily proven to be the same person whose name is subscribed to the written instrument, and
acknowledged that she/he executed the same for the purposes therein contained. In witness whereof, | have hereunto set my hand
and official seal.

(SEAL) , Notary Public

Notary Printed Name

My Commission Expires
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