SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH - CERTIFICATE OFIMMUNIZATION

The long form report printed from the SD Immunization Information System (SDIIS) is preferable over this certificate.

SCHOOL: GRADE: YEAR:
CHILD’S NAME: BIRTHDATE:
PARENT’S NAME: TELEPHONE:
PARENT’S ADDRESS: CITY, STATE, ZIP: COUNTY:
- ___________________________________________________________________________________________|
VACCINE TYPE ENTER DATE (MONTH/DAY/YEAR) EACH IMMUNIZATION WAS GIVEN
IST 2ND 3RD 4TH STH
DTaP/DT
Td/Tdap
IPV
Measles Mumps Two MMR vaccinations are required or submit serological
Rubella (MMR) evidence of immunity.

Or History of Varicella Disease- requires parent/guardian signature
Varicella -Chickenpox

Signed: Date:
(Parent or Guardian)

MCV4

Hepatitis A

Hepatitis B

Pneumococcal

Hib

Other

TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE, THIS CHILD HAS RECEIVED THE ABOVE IMMUNIZATIONS.

SIGNED DATE
(Physician, Nurse, School Health Authority or Department of Health Staff)

ADDRESS

PRINTED SIGNATURE

L |
MEDICAL EXEMPTION TO IMMUNIZATION LAW

The physical condition of the above named child is such that an immunization would endanger life or health.

Please check the appropriate box(es) if this statement is being signed:
Diphtheriad  Tetanus 1  Pertussisd  Poliod MMRQ  Varicella (Chickenpox) O MCv4Q

SIGNED: DATE:
(Licensed Physician per SDCL Chapter 36-4)

PRINTED SIGNATURE:

ADDRESS OF FACILITY:

RELIGIOUS EXEMPTION TO IMMUNIZATION LAW
Parent or guardian of the above named child adheres to a religious doctrine whose teachings are opposed to immunization.

SIGNED: DATE:
(Parent or Guardian)

Revised 05/2016



SCHOOL IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL ATTENDANCE

South Dakota State Law (SDCL 13-28-7.1) (Rev. 2016) requires that any pupil entering school or an early childhood program in this state shall, prior to
admission, be required to present to school authorities certification from a licensed physician that the child has received, or is in the process of receiving,
adequate immunization against poliomyelitis, diphtheria, pertussis, rubeola (measles), rubella, mumps, tetanus, meningitis and varicella (chickenpox),
according to the recommendations of the State Department of Health.

Do not use this form to determine what immunizations infants and toddlers are required to have. Refer to the current Recommended Childhood

Immunization Schedule from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). Children in early intervention programs and
preschool should be age-appropriately immunized.

This law applies to all children entering a South Dakota school district for the first time. This would include children in early intervention programs,
preschool, as well as kindergarten through twelfth grade. Children under 4 need to be age appropriately immunized.

Minimum immunization requirements for kindergarten through twelfth grade are defined as having received at least:

I.

Four or more doses of diphtheria, pertussis and tetanus containing vaccine, with at least one dose administered on or after

age 4. Children 7 years and older needing the primary series only need three doses. The first dose of the primary series should be Tdap and the second and
third doses should be Td, with at least 6 months between dose two and three. Children receiving six doses before age 4 do not require any additional
doses for school requirements. The maximum a child should receive is six doses. If a child 7 years and older has an incomplete DTaP primary series,
please contact the Department of Health forassistance.

Four or more doses of poliovirus vaccine, at least one dose on or after age 4. (Although not the recommended schedule - If a child has three doses of
polio with the third dose administered on or after the age of 4 and at least 6 months after the second dose, no other doses arerequired.)

Two doses of a measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine (MMR) or submit serological evidence of immunity. Minimum age
for the first dose is 12 months. Administer the second dose routinely at age 4 through 6 years. The second dose may be administered prior to age 4
provided at least 28 days have elapsed since the first dose.

Two doses of varicella vaccine. The minimum age for the first dose of varicella (chickenpox) vaccine is 12 months. History of disease is acceptable with
parent/guardian signature. Administer the second dose routinely at age 4 through 6 years. The second dose may be administered prior to age 4 provided
the minimum interval between the two doses is 3 months.

REQUIREMENTS FOR 6TH GRADE ENTRY:

One dose of Tdap is required for 6th grade entry IF the child is 11 years old. If the child is 10 years old when entering 6th grade they have 45 days after
their 11th birthday to receive the Tdap vaccination. If a child has a contraindication to Tdap, Td is acceptable. If a child receives a Tdap at age 7 or older,
the dose does not need to be repeated. If a child 7 years and older has an incomplete DTaP primary series, please contact the Department of Health for
assistance.

One dose of meningococcal vaccine is required for 6th grade entry IF the child is 11 years old. If the child is 10 years old when entering 6th grade they
have 45 days after their 11th birthday to receive the meningococcal vaccine. If a child receives a dose at age 10 or after, the dose does not need to be
repeated.

NOTE: Hib, Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, HPV, and Pneumococcal vaccines are recommended but not required.

Legal alternatives to minimum immunization requirements are defined, and the means for appropriate certification is provided for, on the face
of this document. There are no other exemptions.

INSTRUCTIONS TO PARENTS:
NOTE: This form may be substituted with the long form printed from SDIIS. It may be obtained by contacting your health care provider.

1.
2.

Fill in your child’s name, birth date, address, etc. Please print using a ballpoint pen pressing firmly.

From your child’s immunization records, fill in the date (month, day, and year) for each dose of vaccine received. The signature of a licensed physician or
health authority is required as legal certification that the immunizations were received.

Submit the completed CERTIFICATE OF IMMUNIZATION to your child’s school upon first entry or transfer.

INSTRUCTIONS TO SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR:

1.

Do not admit any student who has not submitted acceptable evidence of having received, or of being in the process of receiving, the minimum
immunization requirements defined above.

Children transferring (at any grade level) to your school during the school term, and who have not previously completed the required immunizations,
must be informed of the necessary requirements. They may then be given up to 45 days to show compliance. Advise parents that failure to
obtain the required immunizations is basis for excluding their child from attending school until immunizations are completed.

Submit the first copy of the completed CERTIFICATE OF IMMUNIZATION for all kindergarten students to the State Health Department before
October 1 of each school year and within 45 days following enrollment of transfer students. The second copy should be given to the student’s
parents.

The third copy must be retained in the student’s permanent school record. If the student transfers to another school, this immunization record, or a
copy thereof, shall be forwarded to the new school. This record should also be available for inspection by authorized representatives of the State
Department of Health.
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