CLOSE
WEBSITE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
Kim Malsam-Rysdon, Secretary of Health

South Dakota Board of Nursing

Certified Nurse Aide (CNA)

A Registered Nurse (RN) and Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) may delegate selected nursing tasks to Unlicensed Assistive Personnel (UAP's). CNA's are UAP's who have completed specific required training and testing and are listed on the South Dakota Board of Nursing Certified Nurse Aide Registry.

For CNA's that are already on the South Dakota Registry:
 - Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) Renewal
 - Lapsed Certified Nurse Aides

For CNA's who are certified in another state and wish to be included on the SD CNA Registry:
 - Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) Registry by Interstate Endorsement

Other Information:
 - CNA Training Programs
 - CNA Testing

 - Name/Contact Information Changes
 - CNA Complaints


Registration Verification:
Registry status implies only that an unlicensed individual has met the minimal training and testing requirements necessary to accept delegated tasks by a licensed nurse while under a nurse's supervision. Registry status does not imply that an individual has met moral, ethical, or legal standards. The registry should not take the place of an employer's hiring screening process or background check. ARSD 44:74:02


Certified Nurse Aide Requirements:

Federal law (OBRA 87) mandates that nurse aides working in long-term care facilities (nursing homes) be registered pursuant to ARSD 44:74:02:02

Nurse aides shall meet the following minimum qualifications of training, competency evaluation, registry status, and performance:

  1. Successful completion of a training program and a competency evaluation program approved by the department pursuant to 44:74:02:07 and 44:74:02:17;

  2. Verification from the department of current registry status or eligibility for inclusion on the registry;

  3. Acceptable employment performance as a nurse aide as documented by the aide's supervisor;

  4. Annual attendance at a minimum of 12 hours of in-service education related to results of performance review and of special resident needs; and

  5. Minimum age of 16 years old at time of employment.


Registry Questions: Email

Complaints:
         
ALL CNA complaints, issues, and discipline inquiries are to be made to the South Dakota Department of Health:   
                -
Complaints: Email


Name/ Contact Information Changes:


CNA Verification/Card:


South Dakota Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) Registry By Interstate Endorsement:

A CNA who is certified in another state and wishes to be included on the South Dakota CNA Registry please complete the following instructions: 44:74:02:23 

  1. Print the CNA Interstate Endorsement Application.
     
  2. Complete Section A-1 (nurse aide will complete this section).
     
  3. Complete Section A-2 (nurse aide will complete this section).
     
  4. Send Section A-2 & A-3 (page 4) to the state where you were first registered as a Nurse Aide.
    • A List of State CNA Registries is listed here.

    • Exceptions: If Arizona, California, Colorado, Illinois, Michigan, Missouri, New York, or North Carolina is your original state of CNA Registry, please send sections A-1, A-2, & A-3 directly to the South Dakota CNA Registry.

  5. Complete section A-4 (nurse aide will complete this section)

  6. Send section A-4 & A-5 (page 5) to your previous employer.
    - Once employer has completed A-5, submit application (page 5) to the South Dakota Board of Nursing.

**A CNA Registered in South Dakota who wishes to be registered as a CNA in another state should contact that CNA State Registry for instructions.**


CNA Online Renewal for those ALREADY on the SD Registry:
 

 To renew registration online, the Nurse Aide must be able demonstrate the following: 

  • A minimum of 12 hours of training per year as required in 44:74:02:02(4), and
  • A minimum of 12 hours of employment as a nurse aide for monetary compensation during the preceding 24 months.
  • If the Nurse Aide has completed the above requirements; he/she is eligible to Renew Online.

Please Note the Following:

  1. If your registration has lapsed, you may NOT renew online. Please refer to Lapsed Nurse Aides.
  2. You may renew your registration online as early as 90 days prior to expiration.
  3. A card will NOT be mailed to you; you may print and/or save your card when you have completed the  renewal process.

Lapsed Certified Nurse Aides:

Certification expires two years from the date of inital registration/renewal.

To renew registration, the Nurse Aide shall submit verification of:

  • A minimum of 12 hours of training per year as required in 44:74:02:02(4), and
  • A minimum of 12 hours of employment as a nurse aide for monetary compensation during the preceding 24 months.
     

1. If a certified nurse aide lets their certification (active registry status) lapse and can show verification they have performed 12 hours of nursing or nursing-related services for monetary compensation during the preceding 24 consecutive months, AND they have demonstrated through documentation that they’ve met the required 12-hours of annual in-service requirements pursuant to ARSD 44:74:02:02(4) they can contact the SDBON to request whether the certification can be reinstated. This consideration is handled case- by-case.

Follow the directions below to submit a request to reinstate CNA registration:

  • Print and complete the CNA Renewal Application.
  • Have current/previous employer complete the employment verification section on page 2 of the CNA Renewal Application.
  • Have current/previous employer submit verification that the nurse aide has completed 12 hours per year of training/in-service on specific topics 
  • Submit required material to the South Dakota Board of Nursing for processing.
     

2. If a certified nurse aide lets their certification (active registry status) lapse, they have not performed any nursing or nursing-related services for monetary compensation within the previous two years, and have not completed 12- hours of annual in-service requirements pursuant to ARSD 44:74:02:02(4) the individual must complete a new competency evaluation program.

In order to get back onto the SD nurse aide registry the individual would need to do the following:

  1. Enroll in an approved nurse aide training program.
  2. Pass the Written and Skills Competency Evaluation Exams.


    Please Note: Once the Board recieves your application, allow up to 5-7 business days for processing.

CNA Waiver of Training/ Equivalency of Training:

  • ONLY Current Nursing Students are eligible.
  • A nursing student who has successfully completed fundamentals in nursing courses (grade C or better) at an approved South Dakota nursing education program may apply for a waiver and submit copies of transcripts.  The applicant must pass the CNA written and skills competency evaluations before being registered as a CNA. 
    • Please Note: Nursing school courses are not applicable for renewal of CNA registration.


CNA Testing:
        - CNA Testing Questions and CNA Candidate Handbook - Contact South Dakota Health Care Association


CNA TRAINING PROGRAMS:
Requirements in Rule

Questions: Tessa Stob

Current Programs: South Dakota Board of Nursing Approved Training Programs

Application Forms:

CNA Training Program Approved Curricula:

  • American Health Care Association - How to be a Nurse Assistant
  • Hartman's Nursing Assistant Care - Long Term Care and Home Care, 3rd Edition
  • Hartman's Nursing Assistant Care - The Basics, 4th Edition
  • Medcom, Inc - The New Nursing Assistant, 8th Edition
  • Mosby's Essentials for Nursing Assistants
  • Nebraska Health Care Association

Approved Online Didactic Instruction: