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South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy 
P.O. Box 340, 105 S. Euclid Ave., Ste. C Pierre, SD 57501-0340 

Ph.: 605-224-1721 Fax: 888-425-3032 
 

E-mail:  SDBMT@midwestsolutionssd.com www.doh.sd.gov/boards/Massage 
 
 

APPLICATION TO REACTIVATE LICENSE 
 

Please submit the following: 
1. Completed application; 
2. Copy of birth certificate or driver’s license; 
3. Verification of any name change, if applicable; 
3.   Proof of at least 8 hours of continuing education received in the last two years; 
4.   Proof of Professional Liability Insurance of at least $250,000; and 
5.   Nonrefundable renewal fee of $45. 

 

Name:     License Number:    

Address:      

City:     State:    

E-mail:    Phone:     

 

Zip:    

 
 

Name of Business:     Phone:    
 

Physical Address:    Mailing address:    
 

City:    State:    
 
Zip:    

 
 

Do you practice massage therapy:   Full Time    Part-Time    Do Not Practice 
 

Please answer the following questions: If you answer yes to any question, please provide a written explanation. 
 

Have you ever been convicted of any felony, any crime involving or relating to the practice of massage, or any crime 
involving dishonesty or moral turpitude?      YES    NO 

 
Have any proceedings ever been taken against you in connection with licensure or practice as a massage therapist or any 
licensed profession in South Dakota or any other jurisdiction?      YES    NO 

 
Have you been disciplined with a reprimand, censure, suspension, temporary suspension, probation, revocation or refusal 
to renew a professional license in any state?     YES    NO 

 
Are you $1,000 or more behind in child support payments?      YES    NO 

 
Do you agree to demonstrate professional conduct at all times while licensed as a massage therapist.     YES     NO 

 
Malpractice or Professional Liability Verification:  Please attach verification of your insurance coverage Certificate 
of Insurance or Policy Declarations Page. 

 
Do you have malpractice or professional liability insurance coverage of at least $250,000 in effect, as required by state 
law.     YES    NO 
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Continuing Education Verification: Please attach verification of each course listed. You must also maintain a copy of the 
verification for your records for 2 years after the date of this renewal. 

 
 
 

Continuing Education Reporting 
(At least 8 hours of qualifying continuing education* must be completed in the past two years.) 

 
 

Date of Program Title of Continuing Education Program Hours Earned 
   

   

   

 
*Qualifying continuing education includes education provided by an approved provider of the National Certification 
Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or the American Medical Massage Association or any course with a clear 
purpose and objective which maintains, improves, or expands the skills and knowledge relevant to massage therapy of the 
human body. 

 
License Renewal Fee:  Please include a personal check, cashier’s check, certified check or money order made payable 
to the State of South Dakota for the applicable amount. 

 

□ $45 renewal fee enclosed 
 
 

BY MY SIGNATURE BELOW, I VERIFY, UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY, THAT I AM THE LICENSEE 
COMPLETING THIS APPLICATION AND THAT ALL INFORMATION SUBMITTED ABOVE IS TRUE AND CORRECT 
TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.  I FURTHER UNDERSTAND THAT FALSE OR INCORRECT INFORMATION, 
OMMISSIONS, INACCURACIES OR FAILURE TO MAKE FULL DISCLOSURE MAY RESULT IN THE 
CANCELLATION OF OR DENIAL OF A LICENSE ISSUED PURSUANT TO THIS APPLICATION AND MAY BE 
SUBJECT TO CIVIL AND CRIMINAL PROCEEDINGS.  I AGREE ALL INFORMATION IN THIS APPLICATION CAN 
BE VERIFIED AND INVESTIGATED.  I HAVE READ, AND AM FAMILIAR WITH THE SOUTH DAKOTA CODIFIED 
LAWS REGULATING MASSAGE THERAPY AND HEREBY AGREE TO ABIDE BY SUCH LAWS. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Signature of Licensee Date 
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